Candidates in several party races will be decided during May 3 primary election PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Monday, 25 April 2016 08:47



Voters in Indiana have sat on the sidelines since January, watching results of primary elections and party caucuses in other states whittle down potential Presidential candidates.

But Indiana will be in the political spotlight as the May 3 primary election is conducted. Not only will Scott County voters get to choose a nominee for President, they also have a few local contests to decide on both the Democrat and Republican tickets.

Both the local Republican and Democrat Party slates offer a contest for District 2 County Commissioner. Three Republicans filed for the at-large seats on the County Council. Two of the three Democrat incumbents in those at-large seats also filed, but they've got company. Four other Democrat candidates are also running.

On the Republican ticket this May 3, the District 1 County Commissioner seat nominee is Marvin L. “Lynn” Robinson. He has no opposition.

Robert “Bob” Tobias, the incumbent, refiled to retain the District 1 Commissioner seat on the Democrat ticket. He too is unopposed.

Primary voters will be choosing between Republicans Christopher “Chris” Albertson, currently a County Councilman, and Michael “Mike” L. Jones on May 3 to serve as their party's nominee for District 2 County Commissioner. On the Democrat side, incumbent Larry Blevins will face challenger Mike E. Nichols at the polls for the seat.

The contest to fill three at-large seats on the County Council attracted Republican candidates Diane L. Mullins, Larry Haven and David L. West.

On the Democrat side for the three Council seats, incumbents Iva Gasaway and Mike Zollman are among candidates. Incumbent Councilman Raymond Jones chose not to run again. Democrat candidates also include, in alphabetical order, Jim Boswell, Robert D. Peacock, Donnie Richie and Chuck Sebastian. Boswell is the county's current surveyor and serves on the Scott County Area Plan Commission. Peacock formerly served on the County Council as has Richie. Sebastian is the local Democrat Party's chairman.

The Democrat ticket also has several candidates who are unopposed in their party's primary. Those include: incumbents Missy Applegate, Clerk of the Circuit Court; Annalee Harrison-Turley, County Recorder; William G. “Jerry” Buchanan, County Coroner; and Superior Court Judge Marsha Owens Howser.

Current County Treasurer Sheryl D. Jent is being challenged by political newcomer James D. Morgan on the Demo slate.

The sitting judge of the 6th Circuit Court, Roger Duvall, a Democrat, is retiring at the end of December. Party candidates for his job include current County Prosecutor Jason M. Mount and attorney Joseph L. Payne. There is no Republican candidate for the post.

District 66 State Rep. Terry Goodin, a Democrat, has no opposition in the May primary.

Guy M. Townsend will serve as a Scott County delegate to the Democrats' state convention this year.

Democrat candidate John R. Gregg, running for Governor, is unchallenged.

Running for the Sixth Congressional District seat are five Democrats, Danny Frank Basham Jr., George Thomas Holland, Bruce W. Peavler, Ralph Spelbring and Barry Welsh. Basham is the current Lexington Township Trustee in Scott County.

Democrat candidates for the Ninth District U.S. Congressional seat are James McClure Jr., Bob Kern, Bill Thomas and Shelli Yoder.

John M. Dickerson of Indianapolis and Baron Hill, former Ninth District Congressman, are the Democrat Party candidates for the U.S. Senate seat.

U.S. Presidential candidates listed on the ballot for Democrats are Hillary Clinton, Roque De La Fuente, Bernie Sanders and Martin O'Malley, although O'Malley has since dropped out.

Aside from candidates in County Council and County Commissioner seats, Republican candidates for local offices include Mark A. Gardner, who is running for county surveyor.

Candidates for Republican precinct committeemen include David R. Hardin, Lexington 1; Chris Albertson,Vienna 2; and Scott A. Zellers, Vienna 6. Democrat precinct committeemen were selected in last year's election.

Republican State Convention delegate candidates are Donna R. Dowd, Phillip D. Dowd and Chris Albertson.

Current Governor Michael R. Pence is running unopposed for Governor on the Republican ticket. Joe Van Wye is the Republican for the District 66 State Representative seat.

Three Republicans are running for nomination to the junior U.S. Senator's seat. They include Eric J. Holcomb, Marlin A. Stutzman and current Ninth District Congressman Todd Young.

The Ninth District Congressional seat on the Republican side has candidates Robert Hall, Trey Hollingsworth, Erin Houchen, Brent Waltz and Greg Zoeller. Houchen is the former Erin Mount and a native of Scott County who now resides with her husband and family in Salem. She serves in the Indiana legislature. Zoeller is the current Indiana Attorney General.

Republicans seeking the Sixth District Congressional District job are the incumbent, Luke Messer, and challengers Charles “Chuck” Johnson Jr. and Jeff Smith.

The other contest currently on the Republican side is, of course, the U.S. Presidency. Candidates listed include Ted Cruz, John R. Kasich and Donald Trump as well as the names of drop-outs Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Carly Fiorina, Mike Huckabee, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio and Rick Santorum.


SUMC Offering Two New Women’s Bible Studies beginning May 22 and July 17 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 20 April 2016 06:00

The Scottsburg United Methodist Church will be offering two new Women’s bible studies, back to back.

Hearing set April 27 on buildings eligible for Blight Elimination Program PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 20 April 2016 05:56

Austin city officials along with staff of ARa have scheduled a public hearing at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 27, concerning 20 buildings and homes eligible for tear-down through the city’s Blight Elimination Program (BEP). The City of Austin recently won a grant of $392,000 through the Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority (IHCDA). Through this grant, structures deemed unsafe and/or abandoned and vacant may be purchased by the Austin Redevelopment Commission (ARC) and then torn down. The cleared properties may then be sold by the ARC, with proceeds being channeled back into the BEP. Those properties targeted under BEP include:

Driver slumped over steering wheel of running vehicle results in new drug cases PDF Print E-mail
Written by Marty Randall   
Wednesday, 13 April 2016 05:31

A woman whose boyfriend was described as “slumped over” a parked car’s steering wheel in a store parking lot has two sets of drug charges filed against her as a result of the incident on March 29.

Report of stolen auto results in arrest of three people on variety of charges PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 13 April 2016 05:30

An Austin policeman quickly stopped a vehicle reported stolen by its owners on April 2, but the incident turned into much more than recovery of a vehicle.

<< Start < Prev 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 Next > End >>

Page 134 of 386