?Board elects new officers at North Harrison PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 16 July 2008 00:00
 ?  ?With the recent elections of May 6, 2008 having brought two new faces to the ranks of the North Harrison board of School Trustees, the board wasted no time Tuesday (July 8) in electing new officers for the 2008-09 school year.
    Robert Chinn was elected president, and Gary Byrne was elected as vice president. Byrne has been on the board since July, 2006. Elected as secretary was Fred Naegele. Members are the two newly elected members of the board: Michael Beyerle and Jerry Renneker.
    James L. Shireman Company updated the board and Supt. Dr. Phil Partenheimer on the progress of the North Harrison Elementary School project. The building is over 80 percent complete on the upper level, and the reconstruction of the classrooms in the original building is nearly complete.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 16:21
?YMCA Summer Olympics PDF Print E-mail

Competition and Camaraderie

Angel James of Camp Quest was among 325 kids in six YMCA of Southern Indiana summer camps recently. Here she competed in the limbo contest in the annual Olympics. Camp Quest won the BAdge of Courage Award.

Participants from Camp Charlestown competed against those from Sports Camp in the YMCA Olympic tire pull event. Camp Charlestown won the Betsy Ross Award for best flag.

Christian Harp helped his team from Camp Floyd County, which won the Olympic Spirit Award, in the water carry relay during the YMCA'sOlympics for summer campers.

?Brick Fundraiser for Lanesville High School baseball field lights ongoing PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 09 July 2008 00:00
??    Lanesville High School’s varsity baseball team is selling engraved bricks to Lanesville High School alumni, parents, staff, as well as supporters, to be placed behind the backstop at the varsity baseball field. Proceeds raised will help fund lights on the baseball field. They hope to have the bricks installed this summer.
    Bricks will be laser engraved, and the information will last indefinitely.
    There are two sizes available for engraving: 1-A 4” x 8” brick, with 3 lines of engraving for $50, and 2-An 8” x 8” brick available with 3 lines of engraving for $100 each. Both are limited to 15 characters per line. Custom and stock labels are both available. This is a tax-deductible donation.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 July 2008 08:08
?Remonstrance petition against proposed Morgan Elementary School project filed June 11 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 09 July 2008 00:00
    ?A petition filed June 11 in the Harrison County Clerk’s office to block the renovation project concerning Morgan Elementary School near Central Barren has been verified with 121 valid signatures. The petition drive was led in part by North Harrison Classroom Teacher’s Association president Greg Rupp.
    The administration is still proceeding with the project for now, according to North Harrison Supt. Dr. Phil Partenheimer, “If the board approves to go forward, we’ll see who can get the most signatures.”
    If the North Harrison Board of School Trustees does decide to move forward, there will be a 30 day “cooling off period”, in which both sides simply let the matter lie, without any petitions being circulated by either side. Dr. Partenheimer said the cooling off period would probably be from the July board meeting to the August board meeting.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 July 2008 10:24
?Pekin’s July 4th Parade Awards PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 09 July 2008 00:00
?? This years Pekin 4th of July Parade showed much enthusiasm, like always. Each year, awards are given to many different winners who are included in different categories. Listed are the winners and their category:
    Historical Cars:
First Place, Jeff Martin C-23; Second Place, Mark Collins C-10: Third Place, Wilmer Campbell C-6.
    Classical Cars:
First Place, Steve Leonard C-11; Second Place, Mark Grigsby C-22; Third Place, Charles Kramer C-15.
    Youth Floats:
First Place, Cub Scout Pack 26 D-2; Second Place, Washington Co. Children’s Theater D-4; Third Place, Stay-N-Play D-6.
First Place, Carla Logan E-5; Second Place, Cody Fultz E-6; Third Place, Tanner Hortenberry E-13.
    Fire Department:
First Place, Town of New Pekin Q-4; Second Place, Pierce/Polk Q-2.
    Motorcycle Club:
Washington Co. Sheriff’s Motor Patrol F-1
    Miniature Motor Vehicles:
Courtney Hoke
First Place, Lighthouse Baptist I-1; Second Place, Humane Society I-5.
    Individual Horseback Riders:
First Place, Elizabeth Lamon J-1; Second Place, Rebecca Lamon J-2.
    Horse and/or Pony Vehicles:
First Place, Hughes Taylor L-1; Second Place, Luida Lee L-2.
    Walking Units:
Eastern Starz Dance Team M-1
    Commercial Floats:
First Place, Trading Charles D-5; Second Place, John Jones D-1
    Antique Tractors:
First Place, Randy Balentine T-3; Second Place, Ben Ratts T-1.
Scout Pack 2b D-2
    Along with parade awards, certain members of the parade received special awards, they include the following:
    The Youngest In Attendance award went to Marshall Naville, the grandson of Jeff Martin, who is only 10 weeks old.
    Oldest In Attendance went to Andrew Baird, 97.
    Traveled The Greatest Distance To Attend went to Andy and Kristi Rothbauer who came all the way from Bangkok, Thailand.
    Any awards or Trophies may be picked up at the New Pekin Town Hall.
    Along with the other festivities, the Pekin Idol was a new and popular addition to the Pekin 4th of July Celebration. Judges for this contest included Becky White, Gary Brown and Mike Motsinger. In first place came Emmy Bodner to be the Pekin Idol’s first year winner. Heather Mull was first runner up and Bryianna Portela made second runner up.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 11:31
<< Start < Prev 341 342 343 344 345 346 Next > End >>

Page 345 of 346