Downtown businesses destroyed, Scottsburg Jamboree damaged in probable explosion PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Friday, 28 December 2012 00:00


Investigators hoped to be able to enter what is left of a dental office on the south side of the Scottsburg downtown square on Friday morning, December 28, after the office and a finance center next to it were destroyed in what some are calling a possible explosion.

Historic building in Scottsburg burns PDF Print E-mail


A huge explosion and fire gutted a dental office and caused moderate to severe damage to adjoining buildings during the early morning hours in downtown Scottsburg on Thursday, December 27. The explosion occurred some time around 1 a.m. Eventually, three other fire departments joined Scottsburg volunteer firemen in controlling and then dowsing the flames that threatened an adjoining finance office, an overhead apartment and the historic Scott Theater. Debris from the explosion, which preliminary reports say was caused by a faulty furnace in the dental office, littered Wardell Street directly in front of the commercial block. Investigators with the local fire department and State Fire Marshal's Office were awaiting confirmation on Thursday afternoon that the building was structurally sound before entering it to continue their efforts.

‘Spirit Night’ scheduled at Warriorettes’ January 10 game PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 26 December 2012 10:38

“Spirit Night” on Thursday, January 10, will begin a series of four special nights at Warriorette home basketball games in January.  Fans are urged to attend each of these nights and support their Warriorettes.

Site for new charter school in Scott County now being sought by proponents PDF Print E-mail
Written by Marty Randall   
Wednesday, 26 December 2012 00:00

Leaders of the proposed charter school for Scott County, Via Public Charter School, announced this week that land is being sought to be the site of the facility.

State police say semi driver hit I-65 bridge ‘just wrong’ in fatal accident PDF Print E-mail

“He hit the bridge ‘just wrong’,” observed one Indiana State Police trooper at the scene of a fatal Interstate 65 accident early on the morning of Friday, December 21.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 26 December 2012 12:11
<< Start < Prev 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 Next > End >>

Page 158 of 284