Teen inmate strikes jailer, gets another charge filed against her in court PDF Print E-mail
Written by Marty Randall   
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 00:00

An 18-year-old being processed for incarceration at the Scott County Security Center after her arrest on drug-related and public intoxication charges has now had a charge of Class D battery filed against her as well.

Initial court hearings held for men recently charged with sex-related crimes PDF Print E-mail
Written by Marty Randall   
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 00:00

Initial hearings have been held in Scott Circuit Court for three men recently charged with sex-related crimes.

Forgery, receiving stolen property charges filed against Crothersville man PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 00:00

Officers with the Versailles post of the Indiana State Police arrested a Crothersville man on Wednesday, June 25, charging him in connection with using a credit card issued to a dead person.

Woman driver arrested on July 3 after striking jogger, leaving scene of accident PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 00:00

An Austin woman suspected of being the driver who struck a jogger on July 3 remains at the Scott County Security Center in Scottsburg on a 72-hour hold order.

Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay Local Torchbearer Names Announced PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 29 June 2016 11:16

Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay Local Torchbearer Names Announced
INDIANAPOLIS (June 29, 2016) –Lt. Governor Eric Holcomb, Indiana Office of Tourism Development (IOTD) Executive Director Mark Newman, Indiana Farmers Mutual Insurance President and CEO Kim Smith and Bicentennial Torch Relay State Director Noelle Szydlyk today unveiled the names of more than 2,000 Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay torchbearers, as well as the official torchbearer uniforms. The unveiling took place during a press conference at the Indiana Statehouse.

“The 2,000 plus Hoosiers selected as torchbearers embody the Indiana traditions of service, civic pride, community involvement and volunteerism,” said Lt. Governor Holcomb. “As we reflect on Indiana’s first two hundred years, it is only fitting that we celebrate Hoosiers who serve as inspirations in their communities.”

A list of the torchbearer names and the counties they represent can be found here.  Graphics of the torchbearer uniforms are also available by request.

Torchbearers were nominated by the public and selected by local committees on a county-by-county basis. More than 4,000 torchbearer nominations were received. Those selected are Hoosiers who demonstrate exceptional public service, excellence in their profession, acts of heroism or volunteer service to their neighborhood, community, region or state.

Developed by IOTD, the Relay is patterned after the Olympic Torch Relay and is designed to connect Hoosiers everywhere during the bicentennial year. The unifying nature of the torch relay underscores the achievement, influence and aspirations of Indiana and its people while symbolically passing the torch to future generations of Hoosiers. The torch relay route was charted by a committee of representatives from multiple state agencies and the private sector. The route showcases locations of natural beauty, local interest and historic significance. The Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay will start Friday, September 9, 2016 in Corydon, Indiana’s first state capital, and culminate with a celebration on Saturday, October 15, 2016 on the grounds of the Indiana Statehouse in Indianapolis. The torch relay will touch each of Indiana’s 92 counties during the 3,200-mile journey across the state.

"Enthusiasm is building as the start of the torch relay approaches," remarked IOTD's Mark Newman. "Communities large and small are pulling out all the stops to honor their torchbearers and celebrate Indiana’s 200th birthday.  Collectively, the over 2,000 torchbearers have had far reaching impact and all of Indiana should be proud.”

In addition to the selected torchbearers, the relay will employ other modes of conveyance that are symbolic of the history and heritage of Indiana, including watercraft, farm equipment, racecars, horse and wagon, antique automobile and others.

In order to conduct an event the size of the Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay, a strong team and critical partnerships are necessary.  Newest among those partners is Indiana Farmers Mutual Insurance who is the official sponsor of the uniforms that will outfit the torchbearers, community volunteers and torch relay staff.  The specially designed torch bearer uniform is comprised of a light weight  lined wind resistant jacket made of ripstop polyester fabric, a 100% micro polyester moisture wicking t-shirt and a specially designed cap.

“We are excited and proud to be an official partner of the Bicentennial Torch Relay. It’s not often that you have the opportunity to participate in a historic event that will touch every county across the state, and we are honored to join with our fellow Hoosiers in celebrating 200 years of statehood,” said Kim O. Smith, President and CEO of Indiana Farmers Mutual Insurance Company.

To follow the Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay on social media, visit INTorchRelay on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

From Scott County:
Clara Adkins
Ron Atkins
James Barley
Landon Campbell
Ed Cozart
Steve Gwaltney
Pamela Gwaltney
Raymond Jones
Gordon Julian
Frank Mays*
Taylor Means
Andie Myers
Rick Rigel
Al Riggle
LeRoy Williams

From Clark County:
Andrew Adams
Les Albro
Greg Alexander
Jerry Ashabranner*
Ron Brogan
Pamela Chastain
Mike Crabtree
Marcia Ernstberger
Kelly Fust
Joni Grayson
Elmer Hoehn
Jim Keith
Carl Kramer
Amanda LeBlanc
Lawrence Curtis Lyons
Bob McIntosh
Jim Nichols
Ed Siewert
Julie Straight
Don Summerfield
Phyllis Wilkins
Sean Wirth
Leslie R. Wright

From Washington County
Steven Davisson
Maurice  Godfrey
Judy Hall
William Harlan
Raymond Lee
Carolyn Lindley
Grant Mahuron
Jack Mahuron
Shane Mahuron
John Mead
Meredith Peters
Paul Scifres
Joe Snider
Thomas Snider
Kaleb Tucker
Rebecca White

* Denotes posthumous selection. County will provide participant to represent selected torchbearer.

<< Start < Prev 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 Next > End >>

Page 131 of 401