Reorganization of the East Washington School Board PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 30 July 2009 00:00
    At the recent Wast Washington School Board meeting held on July14, Linda McClellan was elected to serve as President for the 2009-10 school year; Brian Motsinger to serve as Vice President; Cecil Shrout as Secretary for the 2009-10 school year. Eric Albertson, current member and newly elected member Theresa “Terrie” Drescher took their oath of office for a term of four years beginning July1, 2009.
    The board approved the appointments of Judith Lincks, as Corporation Treasurer; Christi Pruitt as Corporation Deputy Treasurer; Amy Coyle as East Washington Elementary School extra-curricular Treasurer; Donna Campbell as East Washington Middle School extra-curricular Treasurer and Kendra Floyd as Eastern High School extra curricular Treasurer. It was also recommended that he stipend for the EW School Board members remain at $2,000 and J.C Tucker continue as Corporation and Board attorney.
    The minutes of prior meeting and all claims were approved and the monthly financial report was presented top the board with approval for publication.
    The board accepted the recommendation of Superintendent Amick to accept the bid from Prairie farms for dairy products supplies and Earthgrains/Sara Lee for bakery products for the 2009-10 school years.
Superintendent Amick also recommended and accepted that the bids for fuels be re-advertised due to bids being received after deadline.
    The board accepted the addendum to the student discipline policy along with the Superintendent contact for $95,500 for 200 days during the 2009-10 school year.
    The following resignations were approved: Eric Robertson as MS/HS PE/Health teacher and Jacob Johanningsmeier as Girls JV Basketball Coach.
    The following new personnel was approved: Justin Long to fill MS/HS PE/Health teacher pending expanded criminal history check and Tuesday Guersey for Girls JV Basketball coach.
    On the recommendation of Amick the board will create and half day Middle School Social Studies rotation teacher position and accept MS, Principal Luedeman, recommendation for Stacy Bezy to fill position, the motion was approved.
    The board approved to utilize the Indiana State Police option using L-1 identity Solutions because of its competitive costs and potential employees must complete the process themselves and limited criminal history checks on volunteers of the schools.
    The following items were approved: 2009-10 Employee Policy Handbook; enrollment/registration information; bookstore hours; textbook fees and breakfast and lunches prices for the new year.
    Superintendent Amick provided an update of the activity buildings and grounds and will contact Cottongim Enterprises to run a new water line to bus barn.
    She also let the board know that two new buses were ordered on July 7 and passes inspection on July 9.
    Member Shrout asked for a copy of the Alternative Schools guideline. He would like the mentorship addressed so that it is in place for new teachers and member Drescher asked that he supply listed be added to the corporation website, the information was loaded on July 15.
    The next regular school board meeting will be held on August 11.
Last Updated on Thursday, 30 July 2009 11:46