All conference awards announced for spring sports in Southern Athletic Conference PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 00:00
    The all conference awards for individual athletes for all spring sports have been announced by the Southern Athletic Conference (SAC). Also awarded were the winners of the All Sports Trophy for boys’ and girls’ divisions. The school with the highest overall standings in either division wins the All Sports Trophy for that division. All sports throughout the year, that are officially sanctioned SAC sports, count towards the All Sports Trophy in each division.
Boys’ Track -
    All conference awards were given to: Borden-Jordan Adams, Shelby Willis, Lee Kirchgessner, Hunter Williams, Pat O’Connor, Drake Potts, Steve Ellsworth; Lanesville-Asher Pursell; Henryville-Ricky Boyd, Chris Rios, Leo Liburd, D. J. Carlson, Jordan Amos; South Central-Chris O’Connor, Aaron Schweitzberger, Cody Roby, Tyler Hutchinson.
    Borden’s Hunter Williams won the Most Points Award in boys’ track in the SAC.
Girls’ Track -
    All conference awards were given to: Borden-McKenna Williams; Crothersville-Bailey Lundy, Courtney Killey; Henryville-Allison Knox, Katie Spellman, Abby Taylor, Alysa McMinoway, Kasey Motsinger, Erin Hairston, Leslie Thomas, Jenna Crick, Caitlyn Lynch, Jena Miller, Kelsey Petty; New Washington-Lindsay Krohn, Whitney Cranmer; South Central-Abbey Day, Shelby Miller, Rachel Pease.
    Hannah Gilstrap and Katie Spellman of Henryville, and Lindsay Krohn of New Washington all tied for the Most Points Award in girls’ track in the SAC.
    Henryville’s Josh Conrad won Coach of the Year honors.
Girls’ Tennis -
    Borden dominated the year end awards here. They swept the honors, winning all spots available.
    Winning honors in the singles department were Erin Mikel and Allison Rademacher, while both doubles teams won the honors in the pairs department. Winning for the Lady Braves were Jordan Cook and Kelli Holtshouser, and Kelsey Evans and Janelle Graham.
    Ross Shauver (Borden) won Coach of the Year honors, and his team swept through the SAC season with 5-0 scores in all of their league matches.
Baseball -
    Henryville and South Central tied for the SAC team title with identical 4-1 records, and Elliott Thompson of South Central was named Most Outstanding Player for the season. South Central coach Nick Tremain was named Coach of the Year in the SAC.
    The all conference team included: Borden-Kyle Craig and Dylan Martin; Henryville-Kenny Harrell, Kiefer Stiffler, Lucas Hostettler, Colton Dietrich; Lanesville-Cameron Teeter, Joe Kissel, Jordan Sizemore; New Washington-Drake Krohn; South Central-Elliott Thompson, Wesley Hedden, Chip Hockenbury, John Lopp.
Softball -
    Henryville won the softball crown in the SAC this season with a perfect 5-0 slate, and Lanesville was right behind in 2nd place with a 3-1 league record. Henryville’s Jenny Odle was named Coach of the Year. She guided the team to their 3rd consecutive SAC title. Amanda Embry of the Lady Hornets was named Most Outstanding player for the season.
    The all conference team included: Henryville-Kelcey Pierce, Ashley Dickerson, Kelsie Kuntz, Cheyenne Mayfield, Georgia Lacy; Lanesville-Ashley Schoen, Shelby Fonda, Erin Dorgay, Faith Johnston; New Washington-Jenny Schindler; South Central-Carolyn Zipp, Paige Kingsley.
    Boys’ All Sports Trophy standings: 1. Borden 29.5, 2. Henryville 28.5, 3. Lanesville 23, 4. South Central 20.5, New Washington 15.5, 6. Crothersville 8.
    Girls’ All Sports Trophy standings: 1. Henryville 28, 2. New Washington 25, 3. South Central 22, 4. Crothersville 18, 5. Borden 14, 6. Lanesville 14.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 08 July 2009 13:40