Over $1.7 million is awarded in scholarships at SHS Senior Awards Day Program PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Friday, 19 June 2009 00:00
    Faculty and senior students at Scottsburg High School, along with several guests, participated in the Senior Awards Program on May 8, 2009 in McClain Hall.   Scholarship money totaling over $1,758,000 has been awarded to the Class of 2009 to this date.  Numerous achievement awards were presented and several students were given special recognition.
   Students participating in the Big Brothers/Big Sisters High-Five mentoring program were recognized by Mrs. Linda Dawson and Twenty-First Century Scholars were recognized by Mr. Robert Butler.  Spanish Honorary students were recognized by Mrs. Tammy Davis and senior FFA members were recognized by Mrs. Danielle Walker.
 Community/Private Presentations:
 United States Army Reserve – ($90,000 for college) Jordan Gibson;Scholar Athlete – Amanda Munden, Will Stone.
  United States Marine Corps – ($80,000 for college/100% tuition) Eric Burns; Scholastic Excellence Award – Leah Lyon, Jordan Hutton; Semper Fidelis Award – Megan Pelston, Justin Bromm; Distinguished Athlete Award – Tia Deaton, Patrick Bulington.
 United States Navy – ($180,000) ROTC Scholarship – Amanda Munden.
 Franklin College – ($7,000-4 years)Patrick Bulington;($8,500-4 years)Amy Burch;($11,000-4 years)Tess Gentile; ($13,000-4 years)Leah Lyon; ($8,000-4 years)Forrest Prichard.
 Ivy Tech Community College-Sellersburg- County Scholarship – ($2,800)-Rebekah Stainbrook.
  Trinity Valley Community College-($4,404-2 years)-Chris Franklin, Jordan Howser.
 University of Evansville – ($12,500-4 years)-Joshua Cleveland; ($17,426-4years)-Lacey Lord; ($26,010-4years)-Tyler Griffin; ($26,010-4years)-Sarah McNeely; ($18,000-4years)Brooke Routh.
  University of Louisville – ($3,500-4years)-Amanda Munden; ($2,500-4 years, Denny Crum Scholarship-$1,000)-Katie Trueblood.
 University of Southern Indiana – ($l,450-4years)-Stephanie Lytle.
 Kid's First Scholarship - ($500) –Lacey Lord, Stephanie Neace.
Timothy Wolf Memorial Scholarship ($5,000) –Lacey Lord
Lowry Family Scholarship ($500) –Leah Lyon.
 Melvin & Marjorie Garriott Scholarship – ($3,000-)Lacey Lord;($1,500)-Leah Lyon;  ($1,161 )-Stephanie Lytle,($670) Amanda Munden, ($669)-Tyler Patton.
 Carol Petitt Scholarship ($400) – Jamie Collins.
Scott County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship ($500) – Amy Burch.
Christie Crafton Memorial Scholarship ($335)-Mary Thompson
Curtis Wilson Memorial Scholarship ($500) Mary Thompson.
 Norton Healthcare Scholarship – ($1,000) – Megan Pelston.
Harry Brough Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Tyler Patton.
Donald Q. Reid Lions Club Scholarship ($5,000)-Leah Lyon;Lions Club Technical Scholarship ($1,000) – Rebekah Stainbrook.
Scottsburg Kiwanianne/ Evie Brown Memorial Scholarship ($500) –Hannah Mills, Alex Gregory.
Walker Amick Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Mary Thompson.
 J. Gilbert Martin Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Tess Gentile.
Scottsburg United Methodist Church Scholarships ($500) – Jamie Collins, Hannah Mills.
Badger & Spiller Orthodontic Scholarship ($1,000) –Krista Mills.
Lyle E. Donovan Memorial Scholarship – ($750-4years)-Amanda Munden, Yessica Valencia;($500-4years)-Matthew Boswell, Patrick Cozart.
 Farm Credit Services ($1,500) – Sara McNeely.
 Scott County State Bank ($500) –Jordan Hutton.
 Manitowoc Company Foundation Scholarship($1,000-4 years) – Brittany Combs.
Fannie Middleton Nursing Scholarship ($1,000) – Rebekah Stainbrook.
Fraternal Order of Police Scholarship ($500) – Justine Shuler
  SHS Alumni Scholarship ($1,000 ) – Lacey Lord.
 Class of 1956 Scholarship($500) – Megan Pelston.
  Kiwanis Scholarship ($250) –  Tess Gentile, Leah Lyon, Tyler Patton.
 Theta Alpha Chapter of Phi Beta Psi Scholarship ($500) – Leah Lyon.
  Farm Bureau Scholarship ($500-4 years) – Sarah McNeely.
 FFA Alumni Scholarship ($N/A  ) – Stephanie Lytle.
  Gerald & Alice Miner Scholarship ($2,000) –Amanda Munden .
  Mary & Virgil Miller Scholarship ($1,000) – Amanda Munden.
Dale McNeely Scholarship ($10,000) – Leah Lyon.
  Mary E. Payne Scholarship ($500)  -  Lacey Lord.
  Ivan Rogers Scholarship ($500 ) -  Sydney Comer.
 Student Council Leadership Scholarship ($250) – Leah Lyon.
  Lilly Endowment & Community Scholarship (Full tuition plus $800-4 years) –Brooke Routh.
Epply Shields Memorial Scholarship ($3,365) – Jamie Collins
Joyce Hall Memorial Nursing Scholarship ( $1,500) – Brittany Browning.
 Mae Ritter Music Scholarship ($500) – Evelyn Davis.
 Carrols Corporation Burger King Scholarship($500) – Amanda Munden.
 Scottsburg Warriorette Booster Club – ($250 ) – Jamie Collins, Tia Deaton.
 State of Indiana Hoosier Scholar ($500) – Amanda Munden, Ryan Armstrong.
 Wendy’s High School Heisman – Brooke Routh.
 President’s Education Awards – Gold – Ryan Armstrong, Dillon Bowen, Josh Cleveland, Tess Gentile, Leah Lyon, Amanda Munden; Silver – Katie Trueblood.
 Cecil B. Collins Mathematics Award –  Sarah McNeely.
  School Organization Presentations:
  Hi-Y Awards Outstanding Hi-Y Student – Evan McCord.
  Sunshine Awards; Sunshine Girl of the Year- Leah Lyon, Brooke Routh.
  Ida E. Middleton Service Award – Amanda Munden.
 Maude Hollenbach Scholarship ($500) – Leah Lyon.
 Elizabeth Kressler Scholarship ($500) – Brooke Routh.
 Indiana State Sunshine Health Careers Scholarship-District 2 ($1,200) – Leah Lyon
Perfect Attendance Awards:  Kindergarten-Grade 12 – Chris Pruett, Will Stone; Exemplary Attendance- Steven Bridgewater, Chris Chasteen, Zeth Lilliston, Christina Welch .
Last Updated on Friday, 19 June 2009 09:19