Community Foundation of Southern Indiana announces Lilly scholars PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 08 April 2009 00:00
    Six graduating seniors in Clark, Floyd and Harrison counties will receive the generous, well-earned gift of full-tuition scholarships as the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana’s 2009 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.
In addition to full tuition to the accredited Indiana college or university of their choice, the students will receive an $800 annual stipend for books and equipment.
    Honored scholars from each county were recommended by an independent committee of civic volunteers who assessed applicants anonymously from a county other than the one in which the committee members lived. Also, the students’ names were not revealed to the committee members.
    Once the finalists were determined from the 244 applicants this year, each was individually interviewed, according to Melissa Harbeson, program officer for the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana. The locally selected names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. for final approval. ICI is a non-profit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited, degree-granting, non-profit private colleges and universities in Indiana.
The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment Inc. initiative to help Indiana students reach higher levels of education. There were 216 scholarships awarded statewide.
    Locally, students in all accredited public and private high schools in Clark, Floyd and Harrison counties were invited to apply.
    “Lilly Endowment Inc. provides funding through our Foundation for two recipients in each county,” Harbeson said. “This is a generous program that makes a big difference to the students who receive this award.”
    In addition to selecting the recipients, alternates were selected in each county in the event that the chosen recipients select a college outside of Indiana or a course of study other than a bachelor’s degree, or receive a scholarship that supersedes the Lilly honor. Lilly recipients must declare his or her college choice and course of study by May.
Lilly recipients
This year’s honorees are listed below by county.
Neisha M. Washington is a senior at Jeffersonville High School. Her parents are Antonio and Rosita Washington.
Whitney L. Greene is a senior at Charlestown High School. Her parents are Rex and Valarie Masingo.
Kyle A. Bauer is a senior at New Albany High School. His parents are Jeff Bauer and Timberly McKinley.
Mary H. Reas is a senior at Floyd Central High School. Her mother is Kathleen Reas.
Lindsey M. Moses is a senior at Corydon Central High School. Her parents are Marion and Donna Moses.
Pamela J. Cockerell is a senior at Corydon Central High School. Her parents are Bobby B. (Jr.) and Dixie L. Cockerell.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 08 April 2009 13:22