?Paul Beckort to lead Harrison County Community Foundation Board of Directors in 2009 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Tuesday, 06 January 2009 00:00
?    The Harrison County Community Foundation Board of Directors recently elected Paul Beckort of Laconia to serve as its Board President throughout 2009. Paul has served as an HCCF Board member since March 2001. In those years he has served on the Grants Committee, Building Committee, served as Chairman of the Marketing Committee and most recently as Chairman of the Scholarship and Endowment Committee. “Paul has a lot of experience as a foundation board member, having also served as a board member of the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana,” said HCCF Executive Director Steve Gilliland. “We are proud to have him as our new president,” added Gilliland.
    Paul is a lifelong resident of Harrison County. He and his wife Judy live on a farm near Laconia where they raised their two children, Brian and Brooke. They now have three grandchildren. He and his son Brian currently have an auctioneering business. Paul is a graduate of South Central High School and Indiana University. He served as Chief Executive Officer of the Harrison REMC from 1984 to 2008. He is a past president of the Harrison County Chamber of Commerce and the Corydon Rotary Club and has also served on the Harrison County Economic Development Committee, a member of the Indiana University Southeast Board of Advisors and the South Harrison School Bui8lding
Corporation. Paul received the Chamber of Commerce President’s Award for Community Service is 2004.
    The following officers were re-elected to their respective positions: Qudsia Davis, Vice President: Norbert Rawert, Secretary: Joel Voyles, Treasurer.
    The HCCF Board also elected three new community leaders to serve on the 21 member board:
    Teresa Campbell, Elizabeth, Facilities Management for Jones Lang LaSalle at Brown-Forman
    Heather Clunie, New Salisbury, Chief Executive Officer of LG&E Co. Credit Union
    Glenn Walker, Laconia, Coordinator for Mercer Transportation
    Campbell, Clunie and Walker each served on the HCCF Advisory Board throughout 2008. These newly elected board members will serve a three years term and may be re-elected to serve two additional terms. Outgoing Board members are Chris Byrd, Brain Churchill, and Pat Timberlake.
    Additionally, the following new members have been elected to the nine-member HCCF Advisory Council:
    Chad Coffman, Corydon, Chief Financial Officer of Eckart, LLC
    Cheryl Fisher, Mauckport, Nutrition Services Manager at Harrsion County Hospital
    Lisa Fisher, Ramsey, Executive Director of the YMCA of Harrison County
    Brain LaHue, Corydon, Financial Advisor at JP Morgan Chase Bank
    Brett Stilwell, Corydon, Commercial Banker for National City Bank
    Kenneth Tingler, Corydon, Retired Chemist for Eastman Kodak
    Additional Advisory Council members are Martha Beckort, Donnie Dones, and JoAnn Jarboe.
    For more information about the Harrison County Community Foundation visit their website at www.hccfindiana.org or contact the HCCF staff at (812) 738-6668.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 06 January 2009 10:52