?Four new members join Indiana State Fair Board including Paul Graf PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 20 November 2008 00:00
?    The Indiana State Fair Board has four new members, two elected and two appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels. Bill Leininger, Akron and Jim Lankford, Martinsville, won positions in Indiana agricultural districts 2 and 6, respectively, while Bud Krohn, Jr., Winamac and Paul Graf, Sellersburg, were appointed to represent districts 1 and 5. Each new member has begun a four-year term.
    Leininger is a middle school science teacher in the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation and has been the fair’s first assistant in the cattle department for the past nine years. He has served on the Koscuisko County Fair Board for eight years, including two years as president. His family has been showing sheep at the State Fair for more than 30 years. In District 2, he represents LaPorte, St. Joseph, Elkhart, Marshall, Kosciusko, Whitley, Fulton, Cass, Miami and Howard Counties.
    Lankford is a lifelong farmer and a member of numerous boards and organizations. He has attended every Indiana State Fair for more than 50 years and was voted Cattleman of the Year by the Indiana Beef Cattleman’s Association in 2001. He has served on the Morgan County Fair Board for 37 years and elected to the Indiana Association of Fairs, Festivals and Events Hall of Fame in 1999. In District 6, he represents Warren, Tippecanoe, Clinton, Tipton, Fountain, Montgomery, Boone, Vermillion, Parke, Putnam, Hendricks, Putnam, Vigo, Clay, Owen, Morgan, Sullivan,
Greene, Monroe and Brown Counties.
    Krohn is a fourth generation owner of Krohn Family Farms in Winamac and also serves as an associate for Dean Foods Company. He has served on the Eastern Pulaski School Board Association for 12 years and the Pulaski County Beef Committee for 15 years where he has been instrumental in building the 4-H program. In District 1, he represents Lake, Porter, Newton, Jasper, Starke, Pulaski, Benton, White and Carroll Counties.
    Graf currently owns a hauling and landscaping business after a long career with Louisville Cement. He grew up on a dairy farm, participating in 4-H and FFA, and has raised hogs for 30 years. For many years, he has been an active member of the Clark County 4-H Corporation Board, where he currently serves as chairman. In District 5, he represents Knox, Davies, Martin, Lawrence, Jackson, Jefferson, Scott, Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Washington, Orange, Crawford, Perry, Dubois, Spencer, Warrick, Pike, Gibson, Vanderburgh and Posey Counties.
    The Indiana State Fair Board consists of 17 members, including the Governor or his designee; the director of the Department of Agriculture or his designee; the director of the Purdue University Cooperative Extension Service or his designee and one Governor-appointed and one elected member from each of Indiana’s seven agricultural districts.
    The Indiana State Fair expands from 12 to 17 days in 2009 and will take place from August 7 to 23.
Last Updated on Thursday, 20 November 2008 09:15