?Veterans honored by Austin High School students’ program on November 11 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 20 November 2008 00:00
?    Many veterans and their families attended the annual Veterans’ Day program conducted at the Austin High School auditorium on Tuesday, November 11.
    Seniors in the Class of 2009 organized by social studies teacher Ryan Herald presented the program, using the talents of its choir and band.
    Kristen Coomer presented the introduction and welcome to the audience. Andrew Anderson introduced the National Anthem, “The Star-Spangled Banner.” Choir seniors led the song.
    The Pledge of Allegiance was presented by Chance Densford and Beth Davidson. Special music written and performed by teacher Euleda Turner was introduced by Brittany Fox.
    Dennis Stidham provided the meaning of Veterans’ Day. Introduction of each veteran attending was performed by Shawna Fox, Megan Edwards, Kayla Paswater, Matt Cole, Nathan Chandler and Stephanie Amick.
    Robert Hickman introduced the musical salute performed by the AHS choir under the direction of Aaron Childress.
    Prisoners of war and Missing in Action were honored by Jennifer Hensley. Megan Goodin introduced Scott County veterans and their contributions.
    Nichole Combs introduced the AHS band’s musical salute performed under the direction of Eric Ridgway.
    Emily Morris addressed the audience with her speech, “Rededicate to Freedom.” A video of submitted photos of veterans was presented followed by a moment of silent reflection led by Samantha Wells.
    A closing prayer was offered by Ashley Williams.
    The history of “Taps” was recited by Tyler Jackson and performed by Brandon Mullins and Becca Hough.
    The program was closed by Isaac Marble.
    Veterans who attended and were honored included:
    U.S. Air Force: Wilbur Julian, Willie Deaton, Paul Rice, Wayne McClain, Dennis Barrett, Bob McQueary, Tom Sexton, Paul St. John, Lionel G. Warren, David Niccum, Pay Dawson, Albert Thormyer, Bruce Pyle, Jeff Sobczak and Jim Buchanan.
    U.S. Army: Donald Wilkerson, Richard Derringer, Tim Couch, James E.C. Field, Bill Morgan, John Herald, Jack Hanner, Hobson Andrews, Larry Colglazier, Dr. Eusebio C. Kho, John Trabue, Roy McKillip, Mountie Mount, Rick Jewell, Kenneth Burns, John Kiviniemi, Ned Smith, Denver Bowling, Richard Hoard, Emmett Thomas, Walter Dale Anderson, Earl McIntosh, Roy Meeks, Burt Eldridge, Don Collins, Glenn McClain, James R. Jones, Maryland Ousley, Jesse Dowling, Raymond Fulkerson and Marc Lewis.
    U.S. Marine Corps: Larry Stidham, Billy Turner, Raymond Swope and David East.
    National Guard: Walter Green, Jim Day, John McWilliams and James Craig.
    U.S. Navy: Carl Napier, Bob Hubbard, Bob Craig, James Hume, Dennis McClain, The Rev. Donald Buchanan, Paul Rice, Gordon Julian, James Turner, Wilmer Bonsett, Granville Morris, Jason Collier, Charles Hillery, Chuck Gabbard, Joseph Neff, Noah Spicer, Doug Paswater and Donna Akers.
    All were invited to the meal served in the high school library following the program.
    Students who served as guests registrars, flag bearers, greeters, ushers and servers included:
    Trenton Amburgey, Heather Armstrong, Phil Bates, Chris Brown, Tanya Campbell, Kim Couch, Shawn Fox, Malachi Helton, Lauren Henderson, Kayla Hickman.
    Charlie Hughes, Jeffrey Johnson, Keyla Kendall, Brittany Nease, Sabrina Ogden, Dwayne Rice, Eric Rigel, Courtney Robbins, Kayleigh Schmid and Garret White.
    The program was broadcast live on Scott County TV Channel 25 on Insight cable television.
Last Updated on Thursday, 20 November 2008 09:08