?Voter turn out in Washington County over 60 percent PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 12 November 2008 00:00
?    Washington County residents took to the polls on one of the most beautiful election days in a long time with 60.56 percent voter turn out at the polls.
    With 19,170 registered voters in Washington County, 11,610 cast their votes.
    Democrat Barrack Obama will become our 44th President as he took the State of Indiana, but did not take  Washington County. Republican challenger John McCain did.
    Republican John McCain received 6,512 votes and Obama received 4,561of the votes.
    Republican Robert “Bob” Woodward took the win over Democrat Sandra “Sandy” Knapp by  only 18 votes to take the position of  County Treasurer.
    Republican newcomer Rondale Brishaber will take over from current County Coroner Tony W. Floyd as Brishaber won with 51 percent of the votes.
    Democrat Shirley Batt will take her seat as Clerk of Circuit Court as she defeat Republican Robert Hoar taking 57 percent of the votes.
    Two new faces will now serve as County Commissioners as Republican John Mishler took the win over Democrat Kevin Carroll for County Commissioner District 1 and Republican David Brown took the position from Democrat-incumbent Byron Green as County Commissioner District 3.
    The Washington County Council will have no change as Democrat Merwyn T. Fisher, Republican John D. Fultz and Republican Mark E. Manship will remain.
    Stacey A. Guthrie and Donnie Williams will be the faces of Town Council of Campbellsburg.
    Theresa “Terrie” Drescher defeated Kenny Hall for the position on East Washington School Board, Town of Pekin along with Eric Albertson, Polk Township who was unopposed.
    William R. Vancleave will continue to serve on West Washington School board along with Brian Farmer and Tim Barksdale who defeated Patty Zink by only five votes and Kyra Stephenson.
    The State of Indiana continues their support for Gov. Mitch Daniels and Becky Skillman as they defeated Democratic challengers Jill Long Thompson and Dennie Oxley for the Governor/Lt. Governor.
    Democrat Baron Hill will continue to represent the Ninth District of the US Congress as he defeated Republican Mike Sodrel and Libertarian D. Eric Schansberg.
    State Senator Brent Steele will again represent District 44 as he defeated Democrat Matthew S. Colglazier taking 53.72 percent of the votes.
    While the State of Indiana primarily votes Republican they opted for a change and voted Democrat but only by a small margin.
    A breakdown of Washington and other counties is available on Green Banner Publications' website at www.gbpnews.com.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 12 November 2008 11:26