?Scott County Thunder Football teams do battle in recent games PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 05 November 2008 00:00
?    The Scott County Senior team won Saturday, November 1, against the visiting  Borden Braves by a score of  14-12.  This advances the team to the Championship round to be held on Saturday, November 8, against the New Washington Mustangs.
   The Thunder offense was led by Billy Banta, Brandon Browning, Tyler Whitfield, and quarter back Jake Jackson.   Defensive players, Joe Henline, Wes Chapman, andTravis Lauterbach helped to stop the Braves.   The rest of the team members are, Brian Ashabranner, Zach Bacon, Tyler Boswell, Colton Bowles, Chris Bray, Bailey Brooks, Ryder Couch, Wes Deal, Zach Deaton, Justin Gary, Stephen Gary, David G’Fellers, Travis Grant, Landon Gray, Kirk Hardin, Justin Jackson, Kolby Mount, Joey Romero, Mitch Stagnolia, Corey Stewart, Marcus Stotts, Brandon Tincher, and Zach Whitis.
   The coaching staff includes Jason Hillenberg, Chris Romero, Jerry Owens, and Jimmy Jackson.  Everyone is invited to come out and show your support on Saturday, November 8, at 2 p.m. for the Championship game to be held at the Sellersburg Community Park.
  The PeeWee Division also played in the semi-final round for the tournament against the New Washington Mustangs, suffering a tough loss.
  Scoreless until late the in fourth quarter, the Thunder were able to end regular play tied 6-6.  After attempting to score in overtime, the Mustang offense proved to be too much.  The final score was 12-6, New Washington.
   The Thunder players tried their best and with their fans showing their support ended their season with a 5-4 record.  That’s the best they’ve done in several years.  The team consists of Jon Bacon, Collin Baker, Hunter Barrett, Brandon Brock, Andrew Brown, Chase Chandler, Logan Collins, Michael Craig, Travis Sparkman, Zach Douglas, Trevor Gay, Justin G’Fellers, Dylan Grant, Trenton Hearin, Joseph Herrmann, Matt Kemp, Nathan Kruger, Jesse Kruger, Tristan McKinney, Gavin Napier, Devin Prather, Benjamin Rusch, Chase Rusch, Brannon Russell, Sean Small, Akaya Walker, Cody Westmorland, Chandler Whitsit and Tyler Woods.
   The Team is coached by Frank Grant, Louis Rusch, Bobby G’Fellers, David Barrett, and Austin Walker.
    The Scott County Thunder Juniors (10-11 year olds) lost to Silver Creek
34-14 on Wednesday, October 22, at the Scottsburg field, dropping its record to 2-7.  The Thunder played well in their last game of the season. The offense was lead by Justin Edwards and Hunter Stewart who ran for 100 yards and 103 yards respectively.  Stewart had both Scottsburg touchdowns with runs of 65 and 45 yards.
  The defense was lead with an interception by Dillon Webster (safety), a quarterback sack by Eli Hunefeld (defensive end) and tacklers Logan Gray, Joey Kruger, Marcus Nichols, Brian Smith, Hunter Stewart, and Matt White.
  The team consists of Robert Brock, Hunter Bryson, Chad Burow, Alex Cope, Hugh Costello, Bill Dougherty, Justin Edwards, Pat Gorman, Logan Gray, Blake Henline, Eli Hunefeld, Isaac Hunefeld, Andy Jackson, Joey Kruger, Anthony Mata, Daniel Miskell, Damon Napier, Marcus Nichols, Jake Patton, Dillon Prather, Kyle Richey, Tristan Shafer, Brian Smith, Avery Stamper, Hunter Stewart, Hunter Stivers, Dillon Webster, and Matt White.  The Thunder is coached by Skip Hunefeld, Mike Stivers, Kelly Shafer, and Bruce Stamper.
   The end of season banquet will be held on Sunday November 22, from 4-6 p.m. at the Scottsburg Middle School cafeteria.  Anyone who has not turned in their equipment, may do so then.
  If anyone is interested in more information about the Scott County Youth Football league please visit our website www.scottcountyfootball.com
   Signups for next years teams will be in the Spring.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 05 November 2008 16:07