Girls basketball Sectional pairings set... Lady Pirates to face Brownstown Central, Silver Creek faces Salem, New Washington draws Rebels PDF Print E-mail
Written by Janna Ross   
Tuesday, 04 February 2014 09:47

While most of the area was preparing for the Super Bowl on Sunday afternoon. Local girls basketball teams, coaches and fans, were anxiously awaiting the 2014 Sectional draw.


The Indiana High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) held the 2014 Girls Basketball Sectional draw on Sunday allowing the local girls basketball teams and fans to know the path they must take to capture the Sectional crown. The  39th Annual IHSAA Girls Basketball State Tournament presented by Indiana Fever and the Indiana Pacers will begin on Tuesday, February 11 and Sectional champions will be crowned on Saturday, February 15.

The admission to the Sectional contests will be $6 per session or $10 for all sessions.

Sectional 30

Sectional 30 will be hosted by the Lady Pirates of Charlestown at Charlestown High School’s Sports Arena.

The Sectional will open with Scottsburg (13-5) facing North Harrison (10-8) on Tuesday, February 11 at 6 p.m. The nightcap will pit Charlestown (11-6) and Brownstown Central (16-1) at 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday night’s action will pair the Lady Lions of Salem (7-12) and  Silver Creek (6-14) in the first game beginning at 6 p.m. Immediately following the opener will see Madison (12-2) and Corydon Central (11-7) at approximately 7:30 p.m.

Semi-final action on Friday evening, February 14 will see the winner of Scottsburg- North Harrison game face the winner of the Charlestown- Brownstown Central contest at 6 p.m. The second semi-final game will be the winners of the Salem and Silver Creek game and the Madison and Corydon Central game with tip scheduled for approximately 7:30 p.m.

The winners of the Friday night games will play for the Sectional 30 championship on Saturday, February 15.

Sectional 62

Sectional 62 will be hosted by the Lady Mustangs of New Washington. Traveling to New Washington to try to spoil  home court advantage will be Christian Academy of Indiana, South Central, Borden, Lanesville and Rock Creek Academy.

The opening round of Sectional 62 will be played on Tuesday, February 11. Game 1 will see Rock Creek Academy (0-18) and Lanesville (6-12) tip at 6 p.m. with Game 2 pitting Southern Athletic Conference rivals South Central (6-13) and New Washington (9-8) at 7:30 p.m.

Semi-final action will be played on Friday, February 14. The Lady Braves  (14-2) received a bye and will play the winner of the Rock Creek and Lanesville contest at 6 p.m. Christian Academy of Indiana (5-14) also received a bye and will play the winner of the South Central and New Washington game at 7:30 p.m.

The Sectional 62 champion will be crowned on Saturday, February 15.


Regional contests will be held Saturday, February 22. Admission will be $7 per session or $10 for both sessions.

The winner of the Charlestown Sectional 30 will travel to Jasper for Regional action. The Jasper Regional 8 will feature the Sectional winners from Charlestown, Vincennes Lincoln, Boonville and Rushville.

The winner of the New Washington Sectional 62 will travel to West Washington for Regional 16  play. Sectional winners from New Washington, Loogootee, Wood Memorial and Orleans will face off for the Regional 16 title.


Semi-State action will be played on Saturday, March 1. Admission will be $8. Semi-State sites will be Crown Point and Warsaw in the North and Richmond and Bedford North Lawrence in the South. Teams will be assigned Semi-State sites on Sunday, February 23.


State Champions in each class will be crowned on Saturday, March 8. The State Finals will be held at Hulman Center, 200 N. 8th Street in Terre Haute. The admission to the State Championship games will be $15 per session. Reserved single session tickets may be purchased at the participating schools the week of the state finals. Contact participating schools for ticket distribution hours. Any remaining tickets may be purchased on game day at The Hulman Center. Gates open to fans beginning one hour prior to the start of each session.

All four state championship games will be broadcast live throughout the state on the IHSAA Champions Television Network.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 04 February 2014 09:49