Several people file candidacies for primary election nominations on May 6 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Marty Randall   
Tuesday, 21 January 2014 00:00

Several Democrats and Republicans have filed their candidacies for party nominations to offices open this spring in the primary election.

County Clerk Missy Applegate related that an early rush occurred to file for the county offices whose candidates will be decided in the primary on Tuesday, May 6. The first day people could file was on Wednesday, January 8.

Offices available include auditor, assessor, sheriff, prosecutor, all five township trustees and members for each township’s trustee advisory board as well as the District 3 County Commissioner’s seat and four seats on the Scott County Council.

Persons interested in school board seats open in Scott District 1 and Scott District 2 will have to wait until July 23 to file their intentions to run in the General Election on November 4.

Those who have filed include the current sheriff, Dan McClain, and former sheriff John Lizenby. McClain is a Republican and is at the end of a four-year term. Lizenby is a Democrat. As of Monday, January 13, each was the only sheriff candidate for his party.

Teresa Vannarsdall, the current County Auditor, is finishing her second four-year term in that office and is therefore ineligible to run for the position again. In Indiana, persons in certain offices can only hold them for two consecutive four-year terms. Her chief deputy, Tamala “Tammy” Johnson, has filed for the job. She is a Democrat.

County Assessor Diana Cozart, one of three Republicans currently holding a county office, has filed for her party’s primary. She is finishing her first four-year term.

Democrat Mark Hays, recently elected 2014 president of the Board of Scott County Commissioners, currently holds the District 3 Commissioner seat and filed his candidacy on Wednesday, January 15. One other Democrat has also filed for the position, Tex Murphy. Steve Phillips has filed on the Republican ticket.

Seats on the County Council that are available are Districts 1 to 4. Donnie Richie currently serves District 1 but is ineligible to run again because of changes in Indiana election laws regarding county employees. Richie, a Democrat, is an officer with the Scott County Community Corrections Department. Raleigh Campbell Jr., a local attorney, has filed his candidacy on the Democrat ticket.

District 2’s seat is held by Albert “Ab” Watts, a Democrat, who was recently elected 2014 president of the Council. Thus far, the first-term Councilman has no opposition.

District 3’s Councilman is Eric Gillespie, a Republican. Steven P. “Pat” Bridgewater, Steve Meyer and Chrisopher “Chris” Wakeman have filed on the Democrat slate.

Clara Adkins is the District 4 Councilman. She is a Democrat. Though no Democrats have filed against Adkins, a race has developed in the Republican primary between Christopher “Chris” D. Albertson and April Reams Ramoni.

Township trustees currently holding offices include Sherry St. Clair in Finley Twp.; Virgin Johnson in Jennings Twp.; Sue Cross in Johnson Twp.; Danny Basham in Lexington Twp.; and Gordon Julian in Vienna Twp. Julian is the only Republican in the office; the others are Democrats.

Thus far, Jennings Twp. Trustee Virgil Johnson has filed for the Democrat Primary as has newcomer John Anderson. Gordon Julian has filed for the Republican Primary. Julian faces opposition from Terry W. Sandlin on that ticket.

Persons who have thus far filed for township boards include: Jim Cozart (D), Finley Twp; Mahala “Haley” Baker (D), Todd Campbell (D) and Donald A. Sipe (D), Jennings Twp.; Mike Smith (D) and Lonnie Combs (D), Johnson Twp.; and Rosie Alsup (D), Yvette M. Dowd (R), Regina D. Hughbanks (D) and Freda J. Redifer (D), all Vienna Twp.

People who have filed for precinct committeemen include Todd Campbell (D), Jennings 5; and Chuck Sebastian (D), Vienna 2 Precinct; Bill Hoagland (D), Vienna 3 Precinct; and Karen Gricius (D) and Tony Peacock (D), Vienna 5.

State offices that voters will see listed in the May primary include secretary of state, auditor, treasurer, District 45 state senator and District 66 state representative.

Districts 45 and 66 cover portions of Scott County. Jim Smith (R-Charlestown) is the current District 45 State Senator. Terry Goodin (D-Austin) is District 66 State Rep.

Federal offices are Districts 6 and 9 U.S. Representatives for the Congressional House. District 6 is served by Rep. Luke Messer (R-Greensburg), and District 9 by Rep. Todd Young (R-Bloomington). District 6 covers an area ranging from north of Muncie into the northern part of Scott County. The remainder of Scott County is in District 9.

Persons intending to run for office on either primary slate have until 12 noon on Friday, February 7, to do so at the Clerk’s Office.