WW player recognized state-wide PDF Print E-mail
West Washington senior Shana Keller was honored as one of last week’s IBCA/Subway Player(s) of the Week for her performance in the Lady Senators’ win over Perry Central. 
Keller propelled West Washington to a 66-61 overtime triumph over Perry Central to capture girls’ District 3 accolades.
A 5-6 guard, Keller scored 37 points with eight rebounds and three steals as the Lady Senators improved to 8-2.
Keller’s outburst was one point shy of the school record of 38 points set last season by 2013 graduate Tori Packwood. Keller hit 13-of-29 shots, 2-of-3 3-pointers and 9-of-15 free throws.
“It was just her day,” said Senator Head Coach Wade Tomlinson. “Shana got going and she just took advantage of her opportunities. Shana always plays very hard so when it was her day the rest took care of itself.”
Tomlinson said Carrie Miller and Shelby Springer did a nice job of finding Keller in open spots.
He also said Keller was the benefactor of several solid screens from the post players.
Tomlinson said the accolades are nice, but Keller cares about one thing and that’s her team winning.
“The best thing about Shana is  her demeanor,” Tomlinson said. “She is very serious in practice and practices very hard. Also her demeanor and expression will be the same weather she scores 37 or two.
“Shana just wants to perform the role that gives our teams the best chance to win that day.  She really doesn’t care if its scoring, guarding the other teams best player, or rebounding she just wants her team to win.”
The Lady Senators are 9-2 overall and are just a half game out of first place in the Patoka Lake Athletic Conference race.
West Washington is tied for second with Paol, both of who are 1-0, and Mitchell is 2-0.
The win over Perry Central was the first for West Washington in 14 years.
Tomlinson said it’s been even longer since the Lady Senators won in Perry’s gym.
They were back in action Monday at Rock Creek and will host Crawford County Thursday.
Other nominees for Week 8 (2013-14)
District 1 boys: Mike Davis, Fort Wayne North; Terry Davis, South Bend Adams; Davon Dillard, Bowman Academy; Dion Harris, South Bend Clay; Phil Miller, West Noble; Keenan Simmons, Michigan City; Zach Van Hook, Lowell; Zach Zurcher, NorthWood.
District 1 girls: Jordan Cole, Munster; Courtney Dunlap, Argos; Nikki Grose, Warsaw; Jaclyn Heath, LaPorte; Alexa Holland, Rochester; Bethany Jansma, Kankakee Valley; DeJah Joshua, Gary West; Alivia Kruger, West Central; Citlali Lopez, Whiting; Michal Miller, Michigan City; Khadijah Moore, Elkhart Memorial; Morgan Olson, NorthWood; Nekeya Penny, Logansport; Caroline Puntillo, Chesterton.
District 2 boys: Des Balentine, Western; Trevon Bluiett, Park Tudor; Devin Chaudion, Fishers; Brennan Gillis, Ben Davis; Cody Howell, Tri-Central; Zach McRoberts, Carmel; Kale Morris, Clinton Prairie; Jordan Nauert, North Putnam; Riley Neal, Yorktown; Derrik Smits, Zionsville; P.J. Thompson, Brebeuf Jesuit; Mike Tillman, Richmond; J.J. Toles, Providence Cristo Rey; David Vogel, Norwell; K.J. Walton, Brownsburg.
District 2 girls: Kassidy Bonebrake, Crawfordsville; Hannah Gardner, Bishop Chatard; Emily Harrison, Western Boone; Kambrey Jolley, Wapahani; Alanis Jones, Kokomo; Karen Jones, Tri-West; Mikaela McGrath, Monroe Central; Rachel McLimore, Covenant Christian; Allison Nash, Speedway; Mackenzie Reeder, Plainfield; Macee Rudy, Shenandoah; Jayla Scaife, Muncie Central; Sydney Shelton, Mt. Vernon (Fortville); Brooke Treadway, Northwestern; Destiny Washington, Lawrence North.
District 3 boys: Morgan Booher, Greenwood Christian; Micah Bullock, Barr-Reeve; Myles Ervin, Floyd Central; Joe Ferree, Lanesville; Adam Grannan, Tecumseh; Bryan Hoeing, Batesville; Brad Hunt, Jennings County; Bronson Kessinger, Corydon Central; Bryce Lienhoop, Columbus East; Kourtlandt Martin, Evansville Central; Leondre McBirth, New Albany; Devin Richey, Austin; Bryce Rowe, Southwestern (Shelby); Grant Sims, Skyler Stroud, Paoli; Bloomington North; Tyler Thomas, Franklin.
District 3 girls: Allyson Bunch, Columbus East; Debbie Hardy, Southwestern (Hanover); Kaitlynn Henning, Charlestown; Emily Howes, Pike Central; Sarah Lindsey, South Spencer; Ally Hunsinger, Washington; Jenna Knepp, Barr-Reeve; Emily Lueken, Northeast Dubois; Brooke Packer, East Central; Claire Rauck, Providence; Brittani Rizzi, Bedford N. Lawrence; Morgan Richardson, Perry Central; Zuri Sanders, Evansville Central; Stephanie Sherwood, Evansville Memorial; Brooke Todd, Switzerland County.
2013-14 winners
Nov. 11-16 -- District 1 girls: Kindell Fincher, Fort Wayne Canterbury. District 2 girls: Brittany Ward, Pike. District 3: Whitney Williamson, Brown County.
Nov. 18-23 -- District 1 girls: Whitney Jennings, Logansport. District 2 girls: Sydney Shelton, Mt. Vernon (Fortville). District 3 girls: Jackie Young, Princeton.
Nov. 25-30 -- District 1 boys: Carter Skaggs, Logansport. District 1 girls: Brandi Dawson, Garrett. District 2 boys: James Blackmon Jr., Marion; Grant Evans, Wapahani. District 2 girls: Lindsey Corsaro, Roncalli. District 3 boys: Leondre McBirth, New Albany. District 3 girls: Kayla Voegerl, Southridge.
Dec. 2-7 -- District 1 boys: Trent Elliott, Culver Community. District 1 girls: Caroline Puntillo, Chesterton. District 2 boys: Harris Brown, Indianapolis Howe. District 2 girls: Macie Lively, Tipton. District 3 boys: Tyler Billups, Connersville. District 3 girls: Alicia Wilson, Owen Valley.
Dec. 9-14 -- District 1 boys: Justin McCoy, Garrett. District 1 girls: Morgan Olson, NorthWood. District 2 boys: Trevon Bluiett, Park Tudor. District 2 girls: Ana Owens, Lawrence North. District 3 boys: Cale Hall, Orleans. District 3 girls: Jackie Young, Princeton.
Dec. 16-21 -- District 1 boys: Keenan Simmons, Michigan City. District 1 girls: Whitney Jennings, Logansport. District 2 boys: Marquise Moore, Cloverdale. District 2 girls: Kristen Spolyar, Lebanon. District 3 boys: Perry Fairrow, Evansville Bosse. District 3 girls: Alicia Wilson, Owen Valley.
Dec. 23-28 -- District 1 boys: Chandler White, Carroll (Fort Wayne). District 1 girls: Loren Vukovits, John Glenn. District 2 boys: Aaron Korn, Frankton. District 2 girls: Jayla Scaife, Muncie Central. District 3 boys: Bryant McIntosh, Greensburg. District 3 girls: Jenna Allen, Bedford North Lawrence.
Dec. 30-Jan. 4 -- District 1 boys: Nate Ritchie, Northridge. District 1 girls: Kindell Fincher, Fort Wayne Canterbury. District 2 boys: Trey Lyles, Indianapolis Tech. District 2 girls: Shannon Gavaghan, Indianapolis Scecina. District 3 boys: Josh Speidel, Columbus North. District 3 girls: Shana Keller, West Washington.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 January 2014 08:46