HC Foundation Awards $821,100.00 to the Class of 2013 PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Tuesday, 11 June 2013 00:00

The Harrison County Community Foundation has recently awarded 217 scholarships totaling $821,100.00 to the Harrison County high school graduating seniors.
“We’re very proud of the graduates of the Class of 2013. They have proven their diligence in pursuing college credit during their high school career and capturing collegiate funding beyond our endowment and foundation scholarships,” said Martha Beckort, HCCF Scholarship & Endowment Committee Chairman.  “They have great capacity to change our world,” she added.
The Building Our Future scholarship program was established in late 2006 and was the first renewable scholarship program of the Foundation.  Each of twelve recipients will receive $5,000, renewable each year upon meeting criteria for four years, for a total of $20,000.00.
The twelve recipients of the “Building Our Future” Scholarships are:
Corydon Central High School-Christine Farrell, Spencer Sillings, Gregory Taylor
Homeschooled-Douglas Castetter
Lanesville High School-Jenna Bowman, Daniel Cox
North Harrison High School-Alexandra Gott, Lindsey Lloyd, Taylor Ransdell, Abigail Stone
South Central High School-Logan Carter and Hunter Stark
HCCF awarded one $20,000.00 Indiana University Southeast Scholarships at each of the four Harrison County high schools.  These recipients will also receive $5,000, renewable each year upon meeting criteria for four years.  These scholarships were made possible from the Indiana University Southeast Scholarship Fund held at HCCF.  
Indiana University Southeast Scholarships were awarded to:
Kurtis Dowling from Corydon Central High School
David Allen from Lanesville High School
Megan Naegele from North Harrison High School
Olivia Troutman from South Central High School
Through the Founders Scholarship program, HCCF allocated the following amounts to each school based on the reported number of seniors enrolled in January 2013: Corydon Central $129,750; Lanesville $41,550; North Harrison, $107,150; South Central $41,550.  These $1,000 to $5,000 scholarship awards were distributed to 102 graduating seniors throughout Harrison County.  The Foundation requires at least 10 percent of each school’s total amount be distributed to students entering a certified vocational training program. 
Additionally, over $136,000 in scholarships were provided from restricted scholarship endowment funds created by members of the community.  The HCCF now holds over 90 of these scholarship funds and continues to match donations to all HCCF held endowments (up to $50,000 per household, per year).   New scholarships awarded for the first time this year were the Bud and Betty Bennett Family Scholarship, Carl and Peggy Byerly 4-H/FFA Scholarship, Clarence A. Sr. and Olivia A. Merk Scholarship and the North Central Class of 61 Scholarship.  
In addition to these scholarships, the HCCF is now the administrator for the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. This year, Jared Eichmiller from Corydon Central High School was selected from Harrison County. His choice to attend Indiana University sets the value of this award at approximately $45,000.00.
HCCF again used a universal scholarship application allowing the students to fill out one online application to apply for most HCCF sponsored scholarships.  For more information about the scholarship programs of the Harrison County Community Foundation please contact HCCF Director of Programs Julie Timberlake at (812) 738-6668 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .