Over 80 in Austin High School Class of 2013 to graduate Friday night PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Wednesday, 22 May 2013 00:00

Austin High School’s Class of 2013 will receive their diplomas during graduation ceremonies on Friday night, May 24, in the Lady Eagles Gym.
This year’s class will number either 81 or 82, depending on final test scores being handed in today (Wednesday). A full listing of graduates will be published later. The program in the gym at the high school will begin at 8 p.m. Those planning to attend are encouraged to be there early. Parking is available on the east and west sides of the high school/middle school complex and to the north around Rigel Gym and Austin Elementary School. No parking is allowed on grass.
Jesse Connor Satterwhite is ranked no. 1 in the Class of 2013 scholastically. Caitlin LeAnn Rice is no. 2, and Kendrah Lee Skirvin is ranked no. 3 for academic honors. All three are graduating with highest distinction on Friday.
A total of 20 seniors earned Honors Diplomas. Those include, in alphabetical order: Samantha Katlyn Marie Barnett, Creeda Lynn Barrett, Jesse Kyle Bowen, William Thomas Bowling, Sarah Jessie Louise Davidson, Kayla Shannel Griffen, Cody Michael Hendrix, Christina Rayann Hopkins, Kamry Grace Howard, Allyssa Michelle Ingalls, Jazmin Courtney Lovins, Kourtney Rachele Marlene Mace, Jeffery Jordan Newton, Matthew Douglas Pelston, Caitlin LeAnn Rice, Molly Abigail Richardson, Jesse Connor Satterwhite, Kendrah Lee Skirvin, Haley Nicole White and Adrian Michelle Ziemba.
Two students earned Tech honors. They are Dalton Utah McIntosh and Tesia Mae White.
The evening will begin with the AHS band playing processional music as the Class of 2013 marches into the gym. Kendrah Lee Skirvin will provide opening remarks, a speech entitled “Our Rollercoaster Ride.”
The AHS choir will sing “For Good,” a tune from the Broadway musical “Wicked.”
Student addresses include “Making music” by Haley Nicole White; “the Magical Four Cs” delivered by Caitlin Rice; and “An Adventure” offered by Jesse Satterwhite. AHS Principal Sherman Smith will introduce the Class of 2013, and, for his last time, Superintendent Berley Goodin will present diplomas to the graduates. A special presentation is also planned as part of the program to honor Supt. Goodin, who is retiring this year after serving Scott School District 1 for 52 years. Class President Caitlin Rice will offer remarks to her fellow graduates, and closing remarks, “When I See You,” will be delivered by Allyssa Michelle Ingalls. Following the rousing recessional played by the band, AHS graduates will remain in the gym to be greeted by well wishers. Class officers include Rice as President; Kayla Griffen as Vice President; Jazmin Lovins as secretary; and Christina Hopkins as treasurer. Class sponsors are Tammy Rice and Lindsey Daniel. The Class of 2013 has as its motto: “Life brings us tears, smiles and memories  - the tears dry, the smiles fade, but the memories last forever.” Class colors are blue and silver, and the class flower is a blue rose. “See You When I See You” by singer Jason Aldean is the class song.
The graduation ceremony will be aired on Friday night by Scottcounty.tv on Insight Channel 25.