?Ten more Indiana counties approved for Federal individual assistance PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 08 October 2008 00:00
    Governor Mitch Daniels has received word that President George W. Bush has approved Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Pike, Spencer, and Switzerland counties for federal assistance for homeowners, renters and businesses damaged by severe weather that began September 12.
    That brings to 16 the number of Indiana counties that have been designated for federal assistance. Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties received approval for federal individual assistance on September 23 and Harrison, Jefferson, and Jennings counties were added to the list on September 26.
    The state will identify locations to provide disaster services in the region, and the governor will ask the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to allow emergency food stamp distribution for storm victims.
    Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. Federal funding is also available on a cost sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.
    Residents and business owners who sustained losses in those counties can begin applying for FEMA assistance immediately by registering online at http://www.fema.gov/assistance or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers are available 24 hours a day.
    Additional counties may also be added as part of the major disaster determination as damage assessments are completed. They are Floyd, Jasper, Newton, Perry, Scott, and St. Joseph.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 08 October 2008 15:50