2013 IndyStar.com Indiana Girls All-Stars named PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Friday, 22 March 2013 00:00
Fourteen players led by Miss Basketball Stephanie Mavunga of Brownsburg have been selected for the 2013 IndyStar.com Indiana Girls All-Stars.
A 6-4 forward, Mavunga received 79 votes in the Miss Basketball balloting to capture the top individual honor for the state's girls basketball players. Taya Reimer of Hamilton Southeastern collected 74 votes to finish as runner-up for Miss Basketball.
Both Mavunga and Reimer have been chosen to the McDonald's All-American and WBCA All-American games, and both players have played for USA Basketball national teams in the past. Mavunga has signed to attend the University of North Carolina, while Reimer is headed to the University of Notre Dame.
Together, the duo is expected to headline a 14-member group of senior All-Stars who will play four games in June -- two exhibitions against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars.
Others chosen to the 2013 Indiana Girls All-Stars are Jenn Anderson of Westfield, Katie Curtis of Lebanon, Andrijana Cvitkovic of Culver Academy, Celeste Edwards of North Central, Ally Lehman of Indian Creek, Taylor Lutz of Penn, Jill Morrison of Winchester, Bridget Perry of Roncalli, Ariana Simmons of Fort Wayne South, Rhagen Smith of Sullivan, Caitlyn Tolen of Benton Central and Dakota Weatherford of Hamilton Heights.
The head coach for the 2013 Girls All-Stars will be Mark Hurt of Mooresville. He will be assisted by Juanita Goodwell of Fort Wayne South and Julie Meeks of Sullivan.
The Indiana Girls All-Stars will play exhibitions on June 10 and June 12 against the Indiana Junior All-Stars at sites to be determined. The Indiana All-Stars also will face the Kentucky All-Stars on June 14 at Freedom Hall in Louisville and June 15 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. All four dates will be doubleheaders with the Indiana Boys All-Stars.
The Indiana All-Stars celebrate their 75th year in existence this year, being founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and the girls portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976.
The Indiana portion of the All-Star Games is organized and produced by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Indianapolis Star, with its IndyStar.com brand, is a title sponsor and Best Choice Home Health is a presenting sponsor.
Miss Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA. The remainder of the team is finalized by All-Star game director Charlie Hall after observing numerous games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each can recommend up to 12 players.
A complete list of those chosen as 2013 IndyStar.com Indiana Girls All-Stars follows.
2013 IndyStar.com Indiana Girls All-Stars
# Name, School, Height, Pos., PPG, College Choice
1 Stephanie Mavunga, Brownsburg, 6-4, F, 23.2, North Carolina
2 Celeste Edwards, North Central, 5-11, G, 20.3, Dayton
3 Ally Lehman, Indian Creek, 5-10, G, 24.2, Northern Illinois PPG
4 Bridget Perry, Roncalli, 6-2, F-G, 14.1, Purdue
5 Ariana Simmons, Fort Wayne South, 5-11, F-G, 14.2, IPFW
6 Andrijana Cvitkovic, Culver Academy, 6-3, F, 16.1, Dayton
7 Caitlyn Tolen, Benton Central, 5-11, G, 24.3, IUPUI
8 Jenn Anderson, Westfield, 6-4, C, 16.4, Indiana
9 Katie Curtis, Lebanon, 5-6, G, 17.2, Colgate
10 Jill Morrison, Winchester, 5-8, G, 27.6, Ball State
11 Rhagen Smith, Sullivan, 6-2, F, 20.9, Indiana State
12 Taya Reimer, Hamilton Southeastern, 6-3, F, 20.7, Notre Dame
13 Dakota Weatherford, Hamilton Heights, 5-5, G, 19.8, Evansville
14 Taylor Lutz, Penn, 5-8, G, 10.7, Grand Valley State (Mich.)
Head coach: Mark Hurt, Mooresville.
Assistant coaches: Juanita Goodwell, Fort Wayne South; Julie Meeks, Sullivan.
Last Updated on Friday, 22 March 2013 14:22