State and local election results PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Wednesday, 14 November 2012 00:00

A movement by educators in Indiana helped to make a change at the top level. Glenda Ritz was an underdog entering her race against Tony Bennet, who is the Superintendent of Public Instructions.
Ritz overcame the odds and won by four percentage points, 52-48.
Ritz was joined by Joe Donnelly in the upset column.
Donnelly defeated Richard Murdock in the race for United States Senators.
State-wide, Donnelly received 1,200,602 votes while 1,072,950 people voted for Murdock.
The remainder of the state races went as expected.
Todd Young retained his 9th district congressional seat with a six point win over democratic challenger Shelli Yoder 53-47 percent.
Young got 141,972 to Yoder’s 99,732 votes.
Incumbent Attorney General Greg Zoeller retained his seat with 61 percent of the vote cast in his favor.
In local races, Two board members will be replaced on the East Washington School Board. David Churcman defeated Eric Albertson with 61 percent of the vote.
Another incumbent, Terrie Drescher was defeated by Sue Jane Miller. Miller had 54 percent of the vote compared to 45 by Drescher.
Salem residents voted four members to the Salem Community School board. They are, Bubba Abbott, Diana Apple, Erika Garloch and Steven Motsinger.
Bill VanCleave retained his seat on the West Washington School Board, while Matthew Deaton defeated Tim Barksdale.
Shirley Batt was re-elected as Washington County Clerk.
She defeated her Republican challenger J. Davisson 57-43 percent.
A new face and an old one will join the commissioner’s board.
Republican incumbant David Brown won in the third district securing 53 percent of the vote over Byron Green.
Libretarian candidate Rhonda Green was third in the district 3 race with 12 percent of the vote.
The newcomer on the commissioner board will be Phillip Marshall in the first district.
Marshall won the vacated seat by John Mishler. He defeated Bobby Martin and David Norton.
Randall Bill won one of the county council at-large seats. He will be joined by two newly elected councilmen, Gerald Fleming and Jonathan Spaulding.