?Community Foundation announces Youth Philanthropy Council Members for 2008-2009 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 17 September 2008 00:00
? ?    The Community Foundation of Southern Indiana has selected the new members of its Youth Philanthropy Councils. There is one council for each of the three counties the Community Foundation serves - one each in Clark, Floyd, and Harrison counties. Each council has teen and adult members who oversee a service project, receive and award grants and help organize the annual Gold Acorn Youth Volunteer Celebration, which honors teen volunteers each Spring.
    Shawna Sipes, who was recently hired as the coordinator for the councils by CFSI, helped gather names and process applications for the councils.
    “The Councils are designed to teach how philanthropy works to teens who aren’t familiar with charitable organizations,” said Melissa Harbeson, program officer for the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana. “What we hope that then teens learn is how non-profit organizations work and how they can help make a difference, even at a young age. What we hope to do is plant a seed that will be with them the rest of their lives.”
    Following is a list of the YPC members by county.
Clark County
David Stopher, Paige Hargett, Katelyn Maymon, Sean Thomas, Carolyn Rhoten, Leah Brumit, Autumn Sellers, Holly Abbott, Katie Shaw, Austin Traylor, Kala Dieterlen, Whitney Greene, Tyler Roach, Christie Hubbard, Susan Miller is the adult volunteer on the Council.
Floyd County
Jason Holcomb, Mathew Holcomb, Brad Braumann, Jensen Ricke, Major Ricke, Katharine Finn, Ben Rose, Kevin Crockett, Cassie Gutman, Matthew Hamilton, Dallyn Brunck, Chelsea Naylor, Hickory Ham, Molly Magee, Trevor Poe, Kassandra Botts. Adult volunteers are Jerry Finn and Adam Naville.
Harrison County
Abbigail Rebecca Uhl, Chelsey Lloyd, Tia Watson, Walker Horton, Jarod Richards, Emery Steele, Melissa Jackson,
Sara Hausz, Adult volunteers are Sandy Hottel and Melissa Jackson.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 10:31