Hoops for Hope raises more than $23,000 for March 2 tornado victims PDF Print E-mail

The basketball was good in last Saturday’s Hoops for Hope all-start game at Silver Creek High School, but the cause was even better.

The event raised more than $23,000 and will be distributed to the studetns at the schools affected by the March 2 tornadoes that swept through Southern Indiana.
Seniors from Henryville, Eastern, Borden and New Washington, plus players from high schools in Clark, Floyd, Harrison and Washington counties, participated in the games.
In the girls’ game, Borden’s Erin Mikel scored 13 points while leading Team Rebound to a 63-58 win over Team Rebuild.
Mikel was joined by her teammate Allison Rademacher and Eastern’s Jocelyn Mousty, Emily Newcomb and Kaylyn Rodewig.
In the boys’ game, Clarksville’s Billy Edelen (named the MOP), Silver Creek’s Grant Meyer and New Albany’s A.J. Schmidt scored 20 points apiece as Team Rebuild rolled to a 112-89 victory. Jeffersonville’s Trice Whaley had 21 and Bryce Roland 13 for Team Rebound.
In addition to the boys’ and girls’ all-star games, there was also silent and live auctions and one of the more popular events, a legacy tournament.
The Jeffersonville team, which was led by team captain BJ Flynn, who played at the University of Louisviile, won the legacy tournament.
Event coordinator Matt Denison said he is expecting to receive additional funds in the coming weeks and an official amount will be announced when the funds are distributed to relief funds aiding the damaged communities on May 21.
The following are the box scores from Saturday’s games.
Team Rebuild (58) – Kaira Doherty 2, Kierstin Hall 14, Jenna Harrell 2, Allison Knox 2, Mandi Martin 3, Lindsey Mudd 2, Jalynn McClain 12, Lavada Roberson 8, Lakin Roland 11.
Team Rebound (63) – Stephanie Combs 11, Emily Giles 8, Erin Mikel 13, Jocelyn Mousty 7, Emily Newcomb 4, Tionna Peters 7, Allison Rademacher 4, Kaylyn Rodewig 5, Kayla Smith 4, Leah White 0.
Boys’ game
Team Rebuild (112) – Trey Albertson 4, Jacob Brooks 13, Billy Edelen 20, De’Jon Garner 11, Jake Hartlage 10, Curtis Howard 8, Grant Meyer 20, A.J. Schmidt 20, Caleb Sprigler 7.
Team Rebound (89) – Brad Baker 9, Brandon Beam 8, Brad Everage 8, Bryce Roland 13, Matthew Smith 5, Clayton Sullivan 9, Kendall Thompson 11, Trice Whaley 21, Brandon Willis 3.
More photos from the game can be found on pages 6 and 7 of this section.
Plus full coverage of the game can be found at www.gbpnews.com.