HCCF announces Lilly Scholarship Recipient PDF Print E-mail

One Harrison County student has been named a recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Harrison County Community Foundation 2012 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.  Miranda Kaake will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.   Miranda intends to study Biology. 
Miranda Kaake is a 2012 graduating senior at Lanesville Jr.-Sr. High School.   She is the daughter of Steve and Karen Kaake of Lanesville.   Miranda is at the top of her class and has been very active in cross country, track, Academic Bowl, Renaissance Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, student council, pep band, choir, Spanish Club and community service.  She has also involved in dancing, Lanesville United Methodist Church, Girl Scouts, and the HCCF Youth Philanthropy program.  Miranda has also received many honors and awards including being crowned the 2010 Lanesville Heritage Weekend Queen, class president, student council president, Renaissance Club and Spanish Club President, National Honor Society member, Business First –First Honors, student, Academic Bowl state qualifier, AP Scholar Award recipient, DAR Good Citizen as well as multiple achievements in track and cross country. 
“I am honored and feel very blessed to win this prestigious scholarship,” she said.  “I am grateful for the amazing education I have received from Lanesville Community Schools.  I am very thankful for everyone who helped me in all my extra-curricular activities in Girl Scouts, LHS athletics, Rainbow Dance Academy, and Lanesville United Methodist Church. 
“I would also like to acknowledge all my family and friends who’ve supported me along the way,” she said.  “Most importantly, I appreciate everything the Harrison County Community Foundation does for the community and also the Lilly Endowment for their generous scholarship opportunity.”
166 Harrison County graduating high school seniors applied for this scholarship.  A volunteer committee of five former HCCF board members participated in a blind scoring process.  The Scholarship Committee narrowed the applicants to six finalists and conducted an interview of each in mid-February.  The nominee and two alternates were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc., (ICI) for the final selection.  ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. 
The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.
Indiana ranks among the lowest states in percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree.  There will be 142 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships awarded statewide to the Class of 2012.  
For more information about the HCCF scholarship programs please contact Julie Timberlake at (812) 738-6668 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .   Individuals may also see a complete list of HCCF scholarship funds on their web site at www.hccfindiana.org.