Mousty named IBCA All-State PDF Print E-mail

Fifteen seniors and 15 underclass girls basketball players have been chosen first-team all-state by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, it was announced Friday (March 16).

Also, 88 additional seniors were selected as honorable mention all-state and an 91 additional juniors, sophomores and freshmen were recognized as honorable mention underclass all-state.
Rachael Gregory and Nariah Taylor of 2012 Class 4A state champion North Central as well as Natalie Cohlmeyer of 2011 Class 3A state champion Evansville Memorial are among those picked to the Senior First Team.
Completing that list are Jordin Alexander of Hamilton Southeastern, Brionna Barnett of Elkhart Memorial, Jessica Brown of Mt. Vernon (Fortville), Lakan Hasser-Smith of McCutcheon, Kasey Johnson of Plainfield, Amanda Moore of Seymour, CoCo Moore of Lawrence North, Alex Morton of Penn, Jocelyn Mousty of Eastern (Pekin), Raveen Murray of Merrillville, Jessica Rupright of Norwell and Akilah Sims of Fort Wayne Snider.
The Underclass First Team features Celeste Edwards of Class 4A champion North Central, Maura Muensterman of Class 2A champion Evansville Mater Dei and Kindell Fincher of Class A champion Fort Wayne Canterbury.
Others on the Underclass first 15 are Andrijana Cvitkovic of Culver Academy, Whitney Jennings of Logansport, Ally Lehman of Indian Creek, Stephanie Mavunga of Brownsburg, Nicki Monohan of Portage, Jill Morrison of Winchester, Ana Owens of Lawrence North, Bridget Perry of Roncalli, Taya Reimer of Hamilton Southeastern, Ariana Simmons of Fort Wayne South, Rhagen Smith of Sullivan and Caitlyn Tolen of Benton Central.
The IBCA all-state teams are selected in a process where all IBCA-member head coaches have the opportunity to vote for top players from schools on the traditional regional structure of the non-class tournament format. A representative from each of those 16 regional areas, plus six at-large representatives, then meet to review those votes and finalize the selections.
Senior All-State – First Team:
Jordin Alexander, Hamilton Southeastern
Brionna Barnett, Elkhart Memorial
Jessica Brown, Mt. Vernon (Fortville)
Natalie Cohlmeyer, Evansville Memorial
Rachael Gregory, North Central (Indianapolis)
Lakan Hasser-Smith, McCutcheon
Kasey Johnson, Plainfield
Amanda Moore, Seymour
CoCo Moore, Lawrence North
Alex Morton, Penn
Jocelyn Mousty, Eastern (Pekin)
Raveen Murray, Merrillville
Jessica Rupright, Norwell
Akilah Sims, Fort Wayne Snider
Nariah Taylor, North Central (Indianapolis)


Last Updated on Wednesday, 21 March 2012 08:36