Two Salem men honored by Basketball Hall of Fame PDF Print E-mail

Two men from Salem, Kenny Blankenbaker and Jimmy Apple, were recently recognized by the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.
Blankenbaker was honored as a 2012 Men’s Center Circle Officials Award winner, along with Richard “Dick” Freeman and Robert “Bob” Spay, for his contribution as a high school basketball official.  
Blankenbaker is a 1949 graduate of Salem High School. 
He worked 16 sectionals, eight regionals, five semi-states and two state finals (1966 and 1967) in boys basketball.  
A member of the South Central Indiana Officials Association, he served as Vice President and the organizations official interpreter of rules. 
He has served as an observer for over 15 years as well as a clinician.  He is retired from the insurance industry and lives with his wife Shirley in New Palestine.
Apple, who attended William & Mary College, was named part of the 2012 Men’s Silver Anniversary team.
He was a 1987 AP All-State player, an Indiana All-Star and Academic All-State.
Apple was the state’s second leading scorer his senior year, averaged 31.1 points for a 9-12 Salem team that lost in sectionals.
He set 22 Salem basketball records including career points (1,745), points in a season (645) and points in a game (51).
He started 85 consecutive games and scored in double figures for 35 consecutive games.
Apple was three times all-conference and received school’s Everett Dean Sportsmanship Award. A three-year letterwinner at William & Mary, he scored 1,017 points, led his team in 3-point percentage and remains high in many school shooting categories.
He has a doctorate in Buddhist Studies and is an Assistant Professor in Calgary, Canada. He is married and living in Calgary.
Other members of the Silver Anniversary team are; Dave Barret, Lafayette Central Catholic, Purdue; Bryan Clements, Evansville Memorial, Earlham; Jerry Coleman, Richmond, Northeast Nebraska / Valpo; Marty Collier, Bloomington South, Central Florida; Rod Creech, Penn, Saginaw Valley State; Rick Fox, Warsaw, North Carolina; Keith Gailes, Michigan City Rogers, Loyola (Ill.); Jerome Harmon, Gary Lew Wallace, Louisville; Lyndon Jones, Marion, Indiana; Daric Keys, Marion, Wake Forest; Kyle Persinger, Marion, U. of Indianapolis; Jeff Robbins, Muncie Southside, Murray St. / Ball St.; Scott Roberts, Terre Haute North, Franklin College; Ron Rutland Pike, U. of Indianapolis; John Shoup, Clinton Central, Butler; Isaac Washington, East Chicago Central, Paris JC / Texas A & I; John Wilczynski, Merrillville, Akron.
All Men’s Silver Anniversary Team members and Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s Annual Men’s Banquet on Wednesday, March 21, 2012. 
The ceremony will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis. 
Tickets will be made available in early 2012, but reservations can be made through our website. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 for more information or email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .