SHS Soccer Team Named as Mid-Southern Conference Champions PDF Print E-mail

The 2014 Scottsburg High School Warrior soccer team finished its season as sectional runner-up in the championship game against perennial powerhouse Columbus North on Saturday, Oct. 11, losing 0-7.  With fall break vacations, injuries and a red card carry over from game one, the Warriors were without three starters and two subs, including senior goalkeeper Kyle Harrison.  Sophomore Logan Cooper filled in and provided 15 saves during the game.

A strong defensive game enabled the Warriors to hold Columbus North to only two goals in the first half.  As fatigue set in during the second half for Scottsburg, Columbus North was able to substitute fresh legs throughout the half and scored five more goals, three in the last five minutes of the game.
Earlier in the week the Warriors defeated Charlestown 4-1 for the opportunity to play in the title game.
Scoring in the Charlestown game were senior Matthew Jerrell with three goals and junior Kameron Hollan with one. 
Charlestown’s lone goal was on a penalty kick for a hand ball in the first half of play.
This is only the second time the team has made it to the championship game of sectional.
On senior night, Sept. 29, the Warriors defeated Corydon 5-0 to claim the Mid-Southern Conference title. 
Matthew Jerrell scored four goals and Kameron Hollan scored one.  The team was undefeated in conference play.
The season ended with the best record in the fourteen years of varsity boys’ soccer at Scottsburg with 12 wins, 6 losses and 1 tie, for a 65.7 percent win average.  This record exceeded the 2011 season which finished 11-6-1 for 64.7 percent.  The team was Warrior Cup champions, MSC champions and sectional runner up.
The 2014 team finished the season with eight shutouts.  Goalkeeper Kyle Harrison had 133 saves and allowed only 26 goals scored against, for an 80 percent average.
Matthew Jerrell scored 34 goals this season breaking Sasha Weddington’s 2011 record of 22 goals scored in a season.  Jerrell holds the record for most goals scored in a career with 81 goals scored.  He tied the record for most assists in a game with three, and is second in all time assists with 30 following the record set by his brother Brandon in 2011 of 35 assists.
This senior heavy team was led by team captains, midfielder Matthew Jerrell and sweeper Tristan Gentile.  Other seniors were defenders Braden Hale, Dustin Kiefer, Ryan Heil, Zach Lueders, goalkeeper Kyle Harrison and midfielder Martin Mirandes. The team’s head coach was Bryan Jerrell and assistant coach was Jason Carter.