Seelye and Gilley will battle to be new sheriff in town PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Wednesday, 12 May 2010 00:00


The votes have been counted and most of the general election field has been set in Harrison County.

The most hotley contested race in the county was for sheriff.

Gary Gilley was the runaway winner to represent the Democrats in Novemeber. Gilley collected 60.42 percent of the vote. The closest competitior was Marty D. McClanahan with 16.29 percent of the the vote. Gilley will square-off against Republican winner Rodney Seelye. Seelye won handily over Thomas Bube. Seelye had 65.85 percent of the vote and Bube had 20.51 percent.


In the race for the District three commissioners seat Terry Miller won easily over Joyce Deatrick. Miller collected 3,858 votes or 84.49 percent, compared to just 708 for Detrick. Miller will face Republican Jim Klinstiver in the fall.

The following is a list of winners who were opposed in the local races.

Heather Metcalf got the Democrats nod for county auditor. She collected 3,559 votes. She defeated Darrin Deatrick, who collected just 18 percent of the vote. Mtcalf will take on Karen Engleman, who was unopposed and collected 3,125 votes.

There was a tight race on the Democrats side for the county council seat in District 1 with William T. (Bill) Nichols edging Robert H. Morris. Nichols collected 54.78 percent of the vote and Morris had 45.22 percent.

The Republican battle wasn't as tight, with Gary Daivs collecting 40.97 percent and Marion Wallace and Tom Wallace collecting 30.99 percent and 28.05 percent, respectively.

Nichols and Davis will take on one another for the seat in Novemeber in a rematch of the 2006 election. In that race Nichols won 585-483.

In the races for Jackson Township Board, Fred Naegele, R. Brooks Richards and Michael Schroeder all won seats. Richard Schroeder was not selected.

In the vote for the Webster Township Board, Daniel T. (Diesel Dan) McPhillips, Wendell S. Scott Weis and Matthew A. Miller won the three seats with Scott W. Hussung being edged out.

In the race for North Harrison School Board, Veronica J. (Sieg) Battista collected 46.87 percent of the vote to take the at large seat. Gary W. Byrne had 30.96 percent and Daniel (Danny) Johnson had 22.17 percent.

Byrne was the only school board candidate seeking re-election.

In the race for Jackson Township's seat on the North Harrison Board, Marla Adams had 53.20 percent of the vote, beating Jason Seitz with 34-percent and Karl Benz with 12.80 percent.

Spencer Township's seat on the North Harrison School Board goes to Steve Hanger with 34.28 percent of the vote. He beat Bruce L. Fisher, who had 30.87 percent, Kyle M. Byrne with 24.45 percent and George (Butch) Black with 10.40 percent.

Winners in un-contested races were.

Ronald W. Simpron was selected on the Democrat side as Harrison Third Circuit and John T. Evans will represent the Republicans.

Democrat Dennis L. Byrd won the bid for prosecuting attorney and will face J. Otto Schalk.

County Treasurer was Carol Ann Hauswald was selected by the Democrats and will face Republican Teresa Sutton.

County Assessor Lorena A. (Rena) Stepro.

Donald J. Hussung and Ronald J. Wolfe were both selected to the Lanesville School Board from Franklin Township.



Last Updated on Wednesday, 12 May 2010 10:03