Combs beats Wheeler, Bower and Davisson win PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 06 May 2010 00:00


It looks like there won’t be a new sheriff in town for Washington County come November. That is as long as the Republican Party doesn’t appoint someone to run against Sheriff Claude Combs.


Combs beat opponent Joey Wheeler in the race for the Democratic spot in November’s sheriff election, 1,759 votes to 673 during Tuesday’s Primary Election.


In other races:

Incumbent John Fultz was able to secure a spot in the fall election on the Republican ticket, beating eight other candidates to vie for the commissioner District 2 seat. Fultz had 563 votes and Lester Sowder was close behind with 556. Mark “Bubba” Abbott was third with 491 votes.

Fultz will face Democrat Tom Day, who won his party’s nomination for the seat with 1,296 votes. Also trying for the position were Chris Strange with 629 votes and Arnold “Buddy” Maudlin with 410.

Kyra Stephenson will represent the Republicans in the November election for the county recorder seat. She beat Preston Shell with 1,718 votes compared to 1,292 for Shell.

Republican Jason Cockerill secured his position for the fall election, beating Lane Freiberger with 1,831 to 1,104 votes. Cockerill is the current Washington County Assessor and is hoping to retain his seat this fall. So far, no one from the Democratic Party is running against him.

John Revels will represent the Republicans for the County Council District 2 seat. He won the nomination with 234 votes over Lowell Depoy who had 232 and James Geary Jr. who had 153 votes.

David Hoar will represent the Republican Party in the race for County Council District 3. He won the race with 426 votes compared to Rhonda Greene with 256 and Eric Worley with 228.

In a race that is both local and state level, Ryan Bower won the Democratic nomination for State Representative District 73 with 1,333 votes in Washington County. He beat Doug Leatherbury who had 807.

Bower will face Republican Washington County resident Steve Davisson in the fall. Davisson won the Republican nod for the November ballot with 1,911 votes in Washington County compared to Hank Taylor’ s 850 votes.

Also on the state level, Republican Todd Young won the nomination for United States Representative District 9 with 1,259 votes in Washington County. He was followed by Travis Hankins, who received 924 votes and Mike Sodrel with 840.

Baron Hill decidedly won the Democrat’s nomination for the District 9 seat with 1,647 votes, compared to 219 for James McClure and 191 for John Bottorff.

Those voting in the Salem School District voted in one incumbent and two new board members: Jason Pepmeier was the leader with 1,183 votes; Dr. Tricia Wheeler received 1,088 and Todd Ewen came in third with 992 votes. They will take on their new positions July 1.

Story was written by Green Banner Publications special correspondent Monika Spaulding.

Last Updated on Thursday, 06 May 2010 08:38