A number of positions up for grabs in Harrison County PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Wednesday, 10 March 2010 00:00
    With less than two months to go before the May 4 primary, local and state elections are heating up.
    The following is a list of candidates of who filed for the election.
    In the race for United States Senator, five Republicans have filed. They are, Don Bates Jr., Richard Behney, Dan Coats, John N. Hostettler and Marlin A. Stutzman.
    Four Democrats will oppose incumbent Baron Hill in the United States Representative race for District 9. They are, John R. Bottorff, Carol Johnson-Smith, Lendall B. Terry and James R. McClure Jr.
    Those candidates will oppose one of four Republicans, who are also vying for the seat. They are, Travis Hankins, Mike Sodrel, Rick Warren and Todd Young.
    Incumbent Democrat Richard D. Young Jr. is unopposed for his state senate seat, but he will take on Republican Ted Metzger in the November general election.
    In race for State Representative District 70 seat, which will be decided by voters in the Franklin one, Greenville one through five and Georgetown four and six, incumbent Paul J. Robertson of Depauw is unopposed. He will take on one of two Republicans in the November General Election. They are, Brett Loyd of Greenville and Rhonda J. Rhoads of Corydon.
    In the race for the state representative District 73 seat, incumbent Dennie Oxley Sr. will not seek re-election. That opens the door for one of four candidates to represent the area. Democrats Doug Leatherbury and Ryan D. Bower, both of Salem will face one another. Republicans Steve Davisson of Salem and Henry H. (Hank) Taylor of Henryville will square off.
    The race is set for the November general election for judge of the circuit court with Democrat Ronald W. Simpson facing Republican John T. Evans.
    The same is true in the race for prosecuting attorney of Harrison County. Republican J. Otto Schalk of Corydon will battle Democrat Dennis Byrd, also of Corydon.
    Republican Karen Engleman is unopposed in the May primary race for county auditor. The Democrats vying for the right to face her are Heather Metcalf and Darrin Deatrick both of Corydon.
    Republican Teresa Sutton of Elizabeth will be unopposed in the primary race for county treasurer as will Democrat Carol Hauswald of Corydon.
    A long list of candidates have filed for the job of Sheriff vacated by Mike Deatrick. Republicans running for sheriff are, Rodney Seelye, Michael Gregory and Tom Bube.
    Democrats running for sheriff are Eric Fischer, Brad Shepherd, Gary Gilley, Rick Minton, Marty McClanahan, Roy Wiseman and Jim Slucher.
    Democrat Lorena (Rena) Stepro of Corydon will be unopposed in the race for county assessor.
    Two Democrats, Terry Miller of Elizabeth and Joyce Deatrick of Laconia will battle for the seat of District Three county commissioner. Republican Jim Klinstiver of Laconia is unopposed.
    The general election is set for the County Council District One seat with Democrat Leslie Robertson of Depauw facing Republican Phil Smith, also of Depauw. District One includes precincts in Blue River, Morgan and Spencer Townships.
    County Council District Two includes Franklin and Jackson Townships. Two Democrats and three Republicans are running for the seat. The Republicans are, Marion Wallace of Georgetown, Tom Wallace of New Salisbury and Gary Davis, also of New Salisbury. The Democrats are, William (Bill) Nichols of Lanesville and Robert H. Morris of New Salisbury.
    The race for County Council District Three, which covers Harrison Township is set for the November general election with Republican Jeremy R. Shireman of Corydon taking on Democrat Gordon Pendleton, also of Corydon.
    The same is true of the race for the County Council District Four seat, which covers precincts in Heth, Posey, Taylor, Washington and Webster Townships. Republican Ralph Sherman of Laconia will battle Democrat Andrew Eschbacher, also of Laconia.
    A number of local school board seats are also up for election.
    In Lanesville the Franklin Township seat is up for grabs with Donald Hussung of Lanesville squaring off against Ronald Wolfe of Corydon.
    Three seats are up on the North Harrison School Board.
    Karl Benz of Georgetown, Marla Adams of New Salisbury and Jason Seitz of Georgetown will battle for the Jackson Township seat.
    The Spencer Township seat is also up for grabs. Kyle Byrne of Ramsey, Steve Hanger of Depauw, Bruce Fisher of Ramsey and George W. (Butch) Black of Depauw will face off for the open seat.
    Three candidates are vying for the at-large seat. They are, Gary Byrne of Georgetown, Veronica (Sieg) Battista of Ramsey and Daniel (Danny) Johnson of Depauw.
    Visit the Harrison County government Web site for a list of candidates who are running for the various township seats. 
Last Updated on Tuesday, 09 March 2010 16:15