Floyd County primary races set PDF Print E-mail
Written by George Browning   
Wednesday, 10 March 2010 00:00
    The deadline for candidates to register for the 2010 primary election has come and past and a number of candidates will now hit the campaign trail.
    The following is a list of all the candidates who have filed.
    In the race for United States Senator, five Republicans have filed. They are, Don Bates Jr., Richard Behney, Dan Coats, John N. Hostettler and Marlin A. Stutzman.
    Four Democrats will oppose incumbent Baron Hill in the United States Representative race for District 9. They are, John R. Bottorff, Carol Johnson-Smith, Lendall B. Terry and James R. McClure Jr.
    Those candidates will oppose one of four Republicans, who are also vying for the seat. They are, Travis Hankins, Mike Sodrel, Rick Warren and Todd Young.
    One Democrat, Charles “Chuck” Freiberger of Georgetown and two Republicans, Ron Grooms of Jeffersonville and Lee Ann Wiseheart of New Albany will vie for the District 46 seat in the state senate, which encompasses all of Floyd County.
    In race for State Representative District 70 seat, which will be decided by voters in the Franklin one, Greenville one through five and Georgetown four and six, incumbent Paul J. Robertson of Depauw is unopposed. He will take on one of two Republicans in the November General Election. They are, Brett Loyd of Greenville and Rhonda J. Rhoads of Corydon.
    The race for the State Representative seat for District 72, which includes precincts in the townships of Lafayette one through seven, New Albany one through 44 and Georgetown one, two, three and fiveincludes Republican Edward D. (Ed) Clere of New Albany taking on Democrat Shane Gibson of New Albany, in the November General Election.
    Incumbent circuit court judge J. Terrence Cody of New Albany is unopposed in the May 4 primary.
    The same is true of Incumbent Prosecuting Attorney Keith Henderson of New Albany.
    Incumbent Linda S. Moeller, a Democrat from New Albany, is unopposed in the primary election for clerk of the circuit court.    
    The battle for the November election is already set in the race for county auditor as Democrat Mary Lou Byerley of Georgetown will take on Republican Darin Coddington, also of Georgetown.
    The only person slated to run in the May primary for Floyd County Sheriff is incumbent Darrell Mills of New Albany.
    Two Democrats will square off in the race for county assessor, they are Patricia “Trish” Badger-Byrd of New Albany and Chuck Simons of New Albany.
    Incumbent Republican D. Mark Seabrook of New Albany is unopposed in the primary, but will take on Democrat Paul Kraft Jr. of New Albany in the November general election for the position of District One county commissioner. District One covers the City of New Albany and New Albany Township.
    Incumbent Democrat Tom Pickett of New Albany is also unopposed in the primary for the District One county council seat, but will take on Republican Jason Higdon of New Albany in the general election in November. District One covers New Albany precincts one, three, five, six, 16, 17, 18, 21, 22, 23, 30 and 33.
    There will be a new person representing district two on the county council, which has precincts in New Albany 19, 41, 42, 20, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29, 31, 34, 37, 38, 39 and Lafayette one, two, four and seven. They are Democrat Jim Freiberger of Floyds Knobs and Republicans Dana Fendley and Daniel “Danny” Short of Sellersburg.
    In the primary, incumbent Republican Lana Aebersold of New Albany is unopposed for the county council district three seat, which incorporates precincts in New Albany, seven, nine, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 40, 43, 28, 44, 35, 32 and 36. The Democrat, Kevin R. James of New Albany is also unopposed in the primary.
    County Council District Four covers precincts in Franklin one, Georgetown one, two, three, four, five, six; Greenville one through five and Lafayette three, five and six. Incumbent Republican John J. Schellenberger of Greenville is unopposed. Two Democrats Thomas Lenfert of Georgetown and Dan Voyles of Greenville will take on one another for the right to oppose Schellenberger in the November general election.
    Two people will vie for the District One seat on the New Albany-Floyd County School Board. They are, Don Sakel and Roger E. Whaley of Floyds Knobs. District One covers precincts in Lafayette one through seven and Greenville one through five.
    David J. Hines (DJ) of New Albany is unopposed in the District Two seat, which covers precincts in New Albany nine, 13, 14, 15, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 43 and 44.
    In the race for school board at large, voters will choose between eight candidates.
    Jan Habermel Anderson of Floyds Knobs, Mark Boone of New Albany, K. Lee Cotner of New Albany, James M. Dailey of New Albany, Cheryl Matthews of Floyds Knobs, Eric G. Minzenberger of Georgetown, Tonye A. Rutherford of New Albany and Dan Williamson of Sellersburg.
    Check out upcoming issues of The Banner Gazette to see profiles on candidates in the area's larger races.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 09 March 2010 16:14