Local resident elected to Clark County Solid Waste Board PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 27 January 2010 00:00
    David Abbott of Charlestown has been appointed to the Clark County Solid Waste Board. The appointment is from the Clark County Council, where he is in his forth year of the current term. Abbott will represent the Council on the Clark County Solid Waste Board.
    Abbott attended the first meeting of the Board on January 20.
    The Board is led by Ron Grooms, President of the Board.
    Officers were elected during the January 20 meeting. Grooms, who serves on the City Council of Jeffersonville, was re-elected as President while Les Young, who serves as Clark County Commissioner, was elected as Vice President.
    Other members of the Clark County Solid Waste Board include: Clark County Commissioners Ed Meyer and Mike Moore and Jeffersonville Mayor Tom Galligan.
    The Clark County Solid Waste Board works with the Director of the Clark County Solid Waste Management District, Luke Estridge. The group works together on problems that may arise regarding recycling within the district.
    Abbott cannot recall a resident of Charlestown or New Washington  being elected to the Board.
    β€œI cannot recall anyone being elected to the board from the Charlestown or New Washington area. I am delighted to represent the eastern part of Clark County. I believe the eastern part of the county should have the representation on the Board,” Abbott said.
    He concluded with a smile, β€œIt is an honor to serve on the Board with these guys. This is just my way of making Clark County a better place to live and raise a family.”
Last Updated on Wednesday, 27 January 2010 09:30