Scott County Farm Bureau elects new officers, recognizes award winners PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 28 October 2009 00:00
    Members of the Scott County Farm Bureau conducted their annual meeting at Scottsburg High School on September 14.
    Ken McMichael was elected 2010 President. Secretary is Annalee Harrison Turley, Charles Murphy is the delegate and alternate delegates are Phil Turley, Gene Carey and Larry McNeely.
    The organization had several winners to recognize. The top ten entrants in the 2009 coloring contest included Ariel Cassano, kindergarten; Lucas Smith, Jalen Coomer, Kasey McCleery and Brooklyn Blaylock, first grade; Samantha Rose and Blake Babbs, second grade; and Laura Miles, Brandi Smith and Chase Wiley, third grade. Each winner received $10 in McDonald's coupons. A total of 387 entries were received.
    Ashley Hardin and Evelyn Davis were the 4-H Tenure Award winners. Farm Bureau Inc. provided each with a plaque and pen and pencil set. Winners are selected for the number of years spent in 4-H and the number of projects they took. The young women were the top two of the county.
    Hardin was also recognized as the $500 scholarship winner. She may receive the scholarship for four years if requirements are met.
    The Dick Lugar Essay Contest for sixth graders was won by Raven Alcorn and Hunter Lynn Steinkamp.
David Bartle and Robert Fawver were honored as 50-year Farm Bureau members. Marge Fawver was present to receive a certificate which covers the cost of their next yearly membership, a $32.50 value.
    Members enjoyed a presentation by Morgan Dawson that evening. Dawson had traveled to the National FFA Leadership Conference in Washington D.C., and she talked about her experiences.
    Dan Smith, Policy Development Chairman, explained new policy issues for which the Farm Bureau is seeking support at the state level.
    Projects undertaken by the Farm Bureau this year were reviewed. Included were the Ag Day Breakfast; serving ice cream and breakfast at Relay for Life; helping the Scottsburg FFA sponsor the annual kindergarten tour; manning a booth at the county fair; supplying coffee and doughnuts for ten business meetings of the Greater Scott County Chamber of Commerce Ag Committee; sponsoring several 4-H trophies and supplying all of the 4-H Grand Champion t-shirts at the fair; and donating seven American Farmer books to the three county libraries and four school libraries.
Money donated included $50 to the Indiana State Farm Bureau Conference; $60 to sponsor a Marine visiting with the U.S. Marine Corps' Silent Drill Platoon; $1,411 for livestock purchased during the 4-H Livestock Auction; $825 to sponsor Morgan Dawson as a delegate to the FFA Leadership Conference in Washington D.C.; $700 to help the new Scott County Farmers Market at the fairgrounds; $500 for promotion of agriculture; $500 for ten tables at the fair's Open Class Building; $175 to C.A.R.E.T.; $250 to the Indiana Farm Bureau Ag Law; $1,000 donated to the Finley Volunteer Fire Department for repairs; $100 to the Farm Bureau Young Farmers Association; $250 to We Care; $250 to Kids First; $500 for FFA members to attend their national convention; $100 to the Farm Bureau Young Farmers State Convention; donating $150 worth of items to the Scott County community Clearinghouse; and $500 toward agriculture education.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 28 October 2009 08:29