AWC holds opening retreat PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 16 September 2009 00:00
     Awareness Washington County held its opening retreat at the Spring Mill Inn on Sept. 9-10. The theme for the year is "cultivating leadership."
    This year's class is made up of 21 people from diverse backgounds in Washington County. At the retreat, they learned about servant leadership, were introduced to the 21st century leadership capacities, and began to analyze Washington County in terms of how the various groups in the county operate.
    Many of the topics to be explored this year include themes that were brought out by the community in the Washington County Hometown Competitiveness survey. The group has already discussed the importance of elected leaders being servant leaders.
    Many class members stated that Learning Styles and Steps to a Performing Community were among the significant learnings to date. In the next few weeks they will be applying what they have learned so far and exploring the county for their Camera Safari.
    The class will also be visiting public board meetings to observe how the board's business  is conducted, what business the board deals with,  and how board members interact with each other.
    "I'm impressed with the new class," stated Marji Morris, director. "They have a strong commitment to bettering our community."
    Co-director, Debbie Mildenburger said, "I'm excited about having the opportunity to work with Awareness as a facilitator this year." Mildenburger was a graduate of the 2009 AWC class and is now co-directing and co-facilitating the program with Morris.
    Following the retreat, AWC meets one full day per month.The class is open to anyone who lives or works in Washington County. Signups for the next class will begin in June of 2010. Anyone who is interested in learning more about Awareness Washington County should call 896-1930 for information or visit the website at
    This year's class members include Manny Alvarez, Ryan Bower, Janet Bowling, Rondale Brishaber, Virginia Chinn, Tony Frederick, Heather Hardin, Christina Hensley, Jerry Hickey, Ronnie McNew, Eric Mills, Deana Moore, Ashley Morgan, Jennifer Nichols, Nick Perogoy, Michael Roop, Gloria Rosenbaum, Teresa Smith, Chris Sowder, Nicole Weber, and David Wintin.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 September 2009 12:52