East Washington Elementary recognized for receiving Healthy Hoosier School Award PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Wednesday, 16 September 2009 00:00
     East Washington Elementary school was recognized for being named a Silver Level winner for 2008-09 in the Indiana Action for Healthy Kids-Healthy Hoosier School Award at the recent board meeting held on Tuesday, September 8.
    The meeting open with a public hearing for 2009-10 proposed budget, bus replacement and CPF plan as Superintendent Amick presented a summary of the proposed budget. After the presentation the board adjourned the proposal and the regular meeting was called to order with minutes and executive session approved along with vendor claims and payroll.
    The final reading of policies 0144.2, 2464, 5460, 6460, 7530.01 and 7541 were approved as read.
The personnel was approved:
    Cindy Roberts resignation as High School Business teacher effective, September 4; resignation of Kim Hall as Elementary School full time substitute; resignation of Don Balentine as Middle School/ High School computer technician effective, September 15; resignation of Debra Gream as Middle School second shift custodian effective, August 31. Medical leave was approved for Hannah Johanningsmeier set to begin tentatively November 2 through March 1, 2010. The board accepted retirement of Judith Lincks effective December 11.
    Principal Winton recommended Rachel Alvey as High School mathematics teacher and Stacey Etienne as High School business teacher.
    Principal Esarey recommended Peggy Monroe as Elementary full time substitute; Melissa Pickerill, Kindergarten teacher's assistant and Valerie Myers as half day Title 1 tutor position.
    Principal Luedeman recommend Amanda Hurst for Middle School home bound instructor.
    Superintendent Amick recommend Christi Pruitt to be names Corporation Treasurer upon Judy Lincks retirement.
    Upon recommendation from Superintendent Amick and Tom Cullins, Middle School athletic Director the following extra-curricular position were approved: Mike Prichard as seventh grade football coach; Lesia Ellis as fifth grade girls basketball coach for 2009 season; Kim Brown as seventh and eighth grade cheerleader coach for 2009-2010 season and Valerie Myers as seventh grade volleyball coach for 2009-10 season.
    The board approved the grant for the 2009-10 High Ability Program and reviewed the college readiness benchmark scores for the district.
    The approval of the elementary. Middle and high school field trips for 2009-10 were approved.
    The next regular scheduled school board meeting will be Tuesday, October 13 at 7 p.m.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 September 2009 12:50