?Scholarships awarded by Community Foundation of Southern Indiana PDF Print E-mail
Written by Janna Ross   
Wednesday, 16 July 2008 00:00
 ?    The Community Foundation of Southern Indiana awarded $198,542 to southern Indiana high school students for the 2008-2009 school year.
The scholarships include those originated by families to honor loved ones as well as those established by foundations or organizations to encourage the pursuit of advanced education. In addition to those funds, CFSI administers the Lilly Endowment Community Scholars program, which awarded six full tuition scholarships this year to six area high school students.
    Scholarships were awarded in Clark, Floyd and Harrison counties. High School seniors in any of those three counties were invited to apply.
    Students are encouraged to join the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana‚Äôs Facebook group to keep updated on scholarship deadlines an information. Scholarship applications for rising seniors will be available in the fall of 2008.
    Scholarship recipients are selected by a committee from the Community Foundation. Following is a list of scholarship winners by school. Winners of the Paul W. Ogle Scholarships and the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships are announced in separate press releases.
Borden Junior/Senior High School
Roland H. Money Scholarship: Shelbi Bishop, Jerilyn Hacker, Alex Ooley, Nicole Banet, Trevor Wagoner.
Charlestown High School
Hazel and Walter T. Bales Scholarship: Jessika Devine
Christian Academy of Indiana
American Legion Bonnie Sloan Post #28 Scholarship: Kristen Biggs
Corydon Central High School
Arthur and Lois Berlin Scholarship: Hannah Nachreiner
Blaine and Geneva Wiseman Scholarship: Michael Pope
Cleo Award: Katelyn Botts
Joe Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship: Gretchen Zimmerman
Josh Long Football Scholarship: Matthew Carver.
Floyd Central High School
Floyd Central PTA Scholarship: Bea Bodner
Floyd Central Student Council Scholarship and Kelsey Lynn Martin Memorial Scholarship: Ben Stillman
Robert L. Holmes Educational Scholarship: Nicholas Cherry
Steven Bailey Scholarship: Ashley Endler
Tim Brunmeier Memorial Scholarship: Lauren Smith
Jeffersonville High School
Fleshman Memorial Scholarship: Julie Gasney
Hazel and Walter T. Bales Scholarship: Shelby Matthews
Hugh and Mabelle Scott Music Scholarship: Emily Hennegan
John C. Gatz Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Empson
Susan Garwood Memorial Scholarship: Danielle Hughes
New Albany High School
A. Fielder Myers Scholarships: Sarah Durgin and Marlea Jenkins
Alice Greene Scholarships: Phillip Reetz, Carissa Martin, Jillian Carpenter, Alison Rankin, Paige Wills and Chris Lawrence
Alice Ranck Hettle Scholarship and Bette Bennett Hammond Scholarship: Stephanie Medley
American Legion Bonnie Sloan Post #28 Scholarship: Matthew Arachikavitz
Bette Bennett Hammond Scholarships: Emilee Emery, Hannah Kendall
American Legion Bonnie Sloan Post #28 and Blue Sky Foundation Scholarship: Jesse Squires
Coach Alex Thom Memorial Scholarship: John Jenkins
Coach Alex Thom Memorial Scholarship and Alice Greene Scholarship: Lindsay Koehler
Forrest McCaffrey Scholarships: Lindsey Wilson, William Young
Hazel an Walter T. Bales Scholarships: Leah Baumgart and Alan Blair
Helen L. Siebert Scholarship and Alice Greene Scholarship: Christian Everhardus
In Name of Jesus Scholarship: April Boyd
Jospeh B. McLain Scholarships: Caitlyn Seamon, Ross Goodwell, Julian Winternheimer
Kiwanis Club of New Albany Scholarship (Harry Weber) and Mark Douglas Scholarship: Ashleigh Holcomb
Lewis Endres Memorial Scholarship: Tyler Lang
Lucille Reisz Altrusa Award and Mark Douglas Scholarship: Amber Cart
Mark Douglas Scholarship: Chelsea Knable
New Albany PTA Scholarship: Josh Hall
Pearl Morris Nursing Scholarships: Kaitlin Tretter, Shatira Harris, Marissa Cunningham, Laura Docker, Lauren Brown and Tiffany Newsom
Robert L. Holmes Educational Scholarship: Tabitha Aldford
Scribner Family Scholarships: Chelsey Hensgen, Hannah Keller, Rahel Asfaw and Curt Bougher.
New Washington Middle-High School
Raymond Rhodes Memorial Scholarship: Jenna Harbin
Our Lady of Providence Junior-Senior High School
John C. Gatz Memorial Scholarship: Jessica King
Salem High School
Melvin and Marjorie Garriott Scholarships: Cassandra Snelling and Shaylee Brown
    For more information about scholarships or the Community Foudnatoin of Southern Indiana, call 812-948-1662 or 888-388-2374.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 13:24